RSS

My World #54: Most Viewed in Flickr

04 Jan

Happy New Year everybody.  I hope 2010 will be kind to all.

I must admit that I have been really at a lost for posting ideas.  I can of course refer the My World post to my photo blog where I am continuing to run a series on Barcelona.  However, I have always wanted this blog to be separate from my photoblog, so I went to my flickr account and check what else I have out there that have not been featured here.  I checked my daily activity and found that again this photo was viewed more times than the rest.

According to Flickr, this photo of a ruin in Sonargaon/Panam City has been viewed 790 times since I posted it January 2008.  Middle of last year I was contacted by someone from Global Heritage Fund for permission to use this in the website that they are putting together.  Of course I gave permission, because this is one site that needs to be put into heritage status and be preserved.  Its interiors are in sorry state and it truly needs government and nongovernment assistance and protection.

This used to be the the ancient capital of Isa Khan’s kingdom in Bengal.  This is located in Panam City, just outside of Dhaka in Bangladesh.

Join us in featuring and sharing your world here.

 
29 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2010 in My World

 

29 responses to “My World #54: Most Viewed in Flickr

  1. Rajesh

    January 4, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    Wonderful architecture. Lovely facade.
    Windows @ Havelis of Jaisalmer

     
  2. Sylvia Kirkwood

    January 4, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    Marvelous capture of a truly beautiful building! I do hope it gets the assistance and protection that it needs. It would be such a loss if it continues to fall into ruin.

    Hope your weekend is off to a great start!

    Sylvia

     
  3. Arija

    January 4, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    Small wonder it has been viewed so often! A lovely place and shot.The muted colours and water give it quite a Vnetian tuch.

     
  4. Carver

    January 4, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    What a wonderful old building. I have trouble coming up with something for my world sometimes too and feel like I get repetitious. You always have such great photography and posts.

     
  5. Postcards from Wildwood

    January 4, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    It’s a beautiful building. Definitely faded glory, though. How great that you have a part in helping to raise its profile. Well done and congratulations!
    Janice.

     
  6. Erin

    January 4, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    you must be pleased that your photograph has been viewed so frequently. it is an absolutely gorgeous shot.
    have a fab evening.
    erin

     
  7. Misalyn

    January 4, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    Definitely looks like a venetian architecture. It really needs an assistance. Buildings like that should be preserved.

    How I wish I could view your photos in flickr. Unfortunately, Etisalat ( the telecom provider here in UAE) blocked the site.

    Have a nice day.

     
  8. Fishing Guy

    January 4, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    Ewok: What a great look at the ancient relic. I hope it is preserved.

     
  9. Janie of Utah

    January 4, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    Great photo! The building certainly looks exotic and deserves to be preserved.
    Happy New Year!

     
  10. SandyCarlson

    January 4, 2010 at 11:43 pm

    Cool that your photo is getting some exposure! Great shot.

     
  11. Martha

    January 4, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    A great old building, it would be a shame to have it crumble to ruin.

     
  12. Japa

    January 5, 2010 at 12:11 am

    So true. Buildings that banner the grandeur of the past need be preserved or restored. You did justice by taking a great shot. So, don’t wonder now why many have viewed the frame. And thanks for sharing, otherwise I would have not seen it. Happy New Year!

     
  13. seniorhiker

    January 5, 2010 at 1:14 am

    What a beautiful old building. I certainly hope that it can be preserved so future generations can enjoy it as well.

     
  14. quiltworks

    January 5, 2010 at 3:47 am

    I am not surprised it was viewed so many times! It is a wonderful photo and the pink walls are so unusual. Thanks for sharing!


    …My world = my studio

     
  15. irene

    January 5, 2010 at 4:34 am

    Beautiful. It deserves heritage preservation. Thanks for sharing the photo here.

     
  16. January

    January 5, 2010 at 6:52 am

    No wonder it is most viewed. It is certainly a very interesting piece of art. Awesome!

    Happy New Year!

    Once in a Blue Moon

     
  17. magiceye

    January 5, 2010 at 7:07 am

    impressive!
    heres wishing you and yours a super duper 2010!!

     
  18. Wolynski

    January 5, 2010 at 8:12 am

    That’s a gorgeous photo of a stunning building – no wonder it’s getting a lot of hits. An oldie, but goldie.

     
  19. ladyfi

    January 5, 2010 at 9:19 am

    Wonderful photo! Somehow it doesn’t seem deserted with its pink icing exterior.

     
  20. Mix Pix

    January 5, 2010 at 9:29 am

    beautiful building… beautiful shot! it’s not surprising that it gets a lot of views and kudos to you for spreading the word about this structure which definitely deserves preserving.

    wishing you a great year ahead!

     
  21. Hazel

    January 5, 2010 at 9:40 am

    At first I thought this was in Europe. I love ruins and historical sites and I love it when they are photographed to be appreciated and to raise awareness that they should be kept for posterity.

     
  22. eden

    January 5, 2010 at 10:26 am

    What a beautiful ancient architecture. i hope it will be preserved.

    thanks for dropping by

     
  23. Indrani

    January 5, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    Definitely must be preserved, so well done on the shot.

     
  24. SusieOfArabia

    January 5, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    It does look European – what a beautiful old building. Lovely detail and I like the pink.

     
  25. Gwendolyn

    January 5, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    This is indeed a marvelous structure. I like this building and the multi color accents surrounding it. Thanks for sharing the picture and the history.

     
  26. maryt/theteach

    January 6, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    Thanks for posting this very popular photo from Flickr. It’s a marvelous one! 🙂

     
  27. Joyce M

    January 7, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    This photograph leaves me speechless!
    Joyce, IL, USA

     
  28. upto6only

    January 10, 2010 at 2:16 am

    wow that is really beautiful.that photo should really be shown to the rest of the world.

     

Leave a Reply

 
