RSS

My World #71: Noodle Fest

03 May

Chinatown Community Development Center and North Beach Merchants Association are putting on Noodle Fest 2010: Chinatown and North Beach, A Cultural and Culinary Celebration for you to come out and sample delicious noodle and pasta dishes from over thirty restaurants from Chinatown and North Beach! So come ready to mingle, enjoy live entertainment, watch noodle making demonstrations by renowned chefs, vote for your favorite restaurant from both neighborhoods, and enter in an exciting raffle contest!

When we read that advertisement – food and food and walking along the neighborhoods of Chinatown and North Beach – we immediately went online to buy tickets.  They were selling tickets at $15 online and $20 at the event.

The poster that is plastered all over the place.

Whether you bought your tickets online or purchased them at the event, you have to line up to get your passport.  For the ticket price, you will get to taste 3 dishes from Chinatown restaurants and 3 dishes from North Beach (or Little Italy).

We started our tasting at the Chinatown side.  Chinatown’s color is red.

Then we walked a few blocks to sample the cheesy, tomato-y goodness of Italian noodles (pasta).  North Beach’s color is blue.

Since this is a new festival – this being it’s first time – there weren’t as much people as any SF street festival I have attended.  In between tasting, I took my sweet time shooting.  However, ladies and gentlemen, I have made a serious boo-boo.  I FORGOT to take photos of the food.  And this was a food festival.  Pardon me, the newbie in me and the hungry stomach are to blame for this major lapse.

MY WORLD is here. Join us.

 
25 Comments

Posted by on May 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

25 responses to “My World #71: Noodle Fest

  1. docgelo

    May 3, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    i was even so excited to take a peek at what you’ve sampled from that noodle fest…hahaha
    what’s important is you enjoyed the event. anyway, your excuse is logical and valid. 🙂

     
    • ewok1993

      May 3, 2010 at 6:41 pm

      Doc, that was inexcusable as far as I was concerned. However, some restaurants have their food under lock, see 2nd to the last image. They don’t wanna show it until they serve it to you 😦

      Still, I could have snapped the ones we sampled before we gobbled them up 😦

       
  2. Carver

    May 3, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    I think you got some great shots from the festival. Looks like so much fun. Ironically, mine is about a pottery festival that had wines tasting and fudge but lots of greasy southern cooking. However, I was good and went to the one booth with noodles and stir fry veges.

     
    • ewok1993

      May 3, 2010 at 6:39 pm

      Oh our favorite was the thin chinese noodle that was from Utopia Cafe. They served Buddha’s delight noodle (vegetarian) – really yummy. On the Italian side we loved Penne Arrabiata from Trattoria Pinocchio.

       
  3. SandyCarlson

    May 3, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    Bring it on! I am soooo hungry! Looks like a fun event. So much variety!

     
  4. EG Wow, Canada

    May 3, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    Well, I guess you’ll just HAVE to go back next year to get the food shots. Can I come too?

     
    • ewok1993

      May 3, 2010 at 8:55 pm

      Well, if you INSIST I go and taste more next year, I will then 😀

       
  5. Sylvia Kirkwood

    May 3, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    Your photos are terrific as always, and since I haven’t eaten yet, it’s just as well I don’t see any photos of yummy food! I’d end up devouring everything in the fridge — good or not. Besides, you can go back next year and focus on the food!!! Have a great week!

    Sylvia

     
    • ewok1993

      May 3, 2010 at 8:56 pm

      I hope that this becomes a yearly festival and next time I will focus on the food 🙂

       
  6. Misalyn

    May 3, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    You made me smile with your post. Your excuse is totally acceptable and understandable 🙂 You showed us one yummy ‘pansit’ photo (third photo). That will be enough for me 🙂

     
    • ewok1993

      May 3, 2010 at 8:57 pm

      *Grin* I lost my head once my mouth started watering. I wish there was pancit though.

       
  7. Fishing Guy

    May 3, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Ewok: Looks like a great time with a lot of fun food.

     
  8. carolynUSA

    May 3, 2010 at 11:32 pm

    Oh, how fabulous…I love the street scenes! You are forgiven about missing pics of the food…I would have mowed through the food faster than my camera could click anyway. What a yummy time this would be!

     
  9. Indrani

    May 4, 2010 at 1:16 am

    I too forget to take the shots of food, the smell of fresh hot food makes me forget everything. 🙂
    Looks like you spent wonderful moments there.

     
  10. J Bar

    May 4, 2010 at 1:29 am

    Looks great.

     
  11. Sallie (FullTime-:Life)

    May 4, 2010 at 2:13 am

    I’m hungry! thanks for sharing the festival in your world!

     
  12. Rajesh

    May 4, 2010 at 3:24 am

    Grate shots of the place.

     
  13. Ebie

    May 4, 2010 at 5:24 am

    Comes in my blood, I love Chinese food! This would be a fun festival to attend. When I am having fun, I would forget that I am holding a camera!

     
  14. magiceye

    May 4, 2010 at 6:13 am

    the images you have presented are lovely!

     
  15. Dave Q, UK

    May 4, 2010 at 9:25 am

    Lovely shots from the festival and your excuse is understandable, just don’t forget to shot some next year. Lol!

     
  16. eileeninmd

    May 4, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    Great photos! Is this the famous fountain, that has appeared in many movies?

     
  17. Jim M.

    May 31, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    Really decent post… I love it. Keep ’em coming… 🙂

     

Leave a comment