RSS

My World #33: Camping @ Shasta Lake

06 Jul

On June 12-14, I went camping with my husband’s co-workers over at Hirz Bay Campground.  The campground that my husband reserved would accommodate 80 people.  We were more or less 5o in total.

On June 12, we met at husband’s work.  When everyone else arrived we all left around 4 pm.  It was supposed to be a 3-hour drive.  But it was a Friday and we hit every imaginable traffic jam from the East Bay to Sacramento.  We were supposed to exit at Vacaville to get Highway 505 to connect to I-5, but hubs and I were chatting and we missed it.  We were already in Sacramento when we realized our mistake.  It wasn’t important we thought that we would just hit I-5 from Sacramento.  Our mistake was that by going to Sacramento, we added about 1.5 to 2 hours to our drive.  It was 9 pm when we arrived at the camp; and we had all the food.  We pitched our tent in the dark, lamplight was little help.  But we managed to have the coal going before the sky broke open.  We stood there grilling burgers and hotdogs in the rain.  The three or four umbrellas that were available were used to shield the coals to enable our dinner to be cooked.  Needless to say, it was a challenging first day/night.  People were ready to leave the next day; some did.  Anyway, it went well after that first night.  I share with you some random shots.

The rightmost tent was our home for two nights.  And this is our grill/kitchen for three days.

Neil caught some striped bass that the ladies cooked inwonderfully Laotian/Thai dish. Oh simply yummy.

Lake Shasta I was told by those in the know is home to some good fishing.

Twilight by the lake, a good place to congregate and chat.

There is still a little light and we started to get the bonfire going.

This is my favorite photo of the camping. It reminds me of a FISHING GUY in the making.  Twenty-month old Ethan, son of a fishing aficionado shows he’s well into following his dad’s footsteps.

It’s packing time.  That’s my husband with his co-worker and co-organizer trying to fit everything in this small pick-up 🙂

Every Monday, people from all over the globe show off their worlds here.  Visit us and/or join us in showing your world.

 
31 Comments

Posted by on July 6, 2009 in My World

 

31 responses to “My World #33: Camping @ Shasta Lake

  1. bw

    July 6, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    This is MY kind of camping – where I can fish and cook them at the same time !

    Luv to hug that little plump cutie wonder. Now you know how I love kids 😆

     
  2. Erin

    July 6, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    a happy monday.
    is the lake back up at all? i know for many years it was quite low.
    in my younger days i worked as a park person at whiskeytown lake…which is down the road a ways.
    lovely shots…glad you finally got there 😉
    have a great afternoon.

     
    • ewok1993

      July 6, 2009 at 8:56 pm

      I’ve always been curious about whiskeytown. That would be next on my list. The lake didn’t look like it was suffering from a third straight drought years.

       
  3. seniorhiker

    July 6, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    It looks as if your camping weekend was a great success after the first night. That young fisherman is a real cutie.

     
  4. Jennifer

    July 6, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    The people who left early obviously missed a lot of fun!

     
  5. Sylvia Kirkwood

    July 6, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    Marvelous shots of what looks to have been a really fun trip. Looking forward to our camping trip to Whidbey Island the end of the month. That little fisherman guy is really a cuties and, yes, you’re right! A Fishing Guy in the making!

     
  6. Carver

    July 6, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    I’m glad it stopped raining after the first night. Looks like fun and you got some good shots.

     
  7. marcia

    July 6, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    sorry about the mix up But what a beautiful spot and what a fishing haul.Yumm

     
  8. James

    July 6, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    You got some really great pictures. That traffic reminds me of when my wife and I used to drive from San Leandro to Lake Tahoe after work on friday. Yikes!

     
    • ewok1993

      July 6, 2009 at 8:54 pm

      Good comparison. Exactly like that 😦

       
  9. SandyCarlson

    July 6, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    I love that little fishing guy! If Neil shows him the ropes, he’ll be set for life!

     
  10. Sharon S. (Canarybird)

    July 6, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    Camping by a lake with bonfires and fish. What a great way to enjoy summer!

     
  11. Reader Wil

    July 6, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    Camping is wonderful, isn’t it?! I always enjoyed except for the rainy days when I had to try to get the daily laundry of the five of us dry! Still I often think of that happy time! Thanks for sharing your world!

     
  12. babooshka

    July 6, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    This is how I enjoy camping virtually. Always looks and sounds fun like this for me when other people do it.

     
    • ewok1993

      July 6, 2009 at 9:53 pm

      I agree with yah. It’s so much more fun if you don’t have to do the packing and unpacking then packing again and sleeping on the ground 🙂

       
  13. Willa

    July 6, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    those are really some wonderful shots! i love the little fisherman. 😀

     
  14. Alicesg

    July 7, 2009 at 1:09 am

    Wow looked like a fun day for you. That’s a whole lot of fishes out there. The little boy is so cute.

     
  15. Lantaw

    July 7, 2009 at 1:28 am

    looks like a busy campsite 🙂 caught any big ones?

     
  16. Barb

    July 7, 2009 at 1:57 am

    Shasta Lake looks like a beautiful setting for camping and fishing. Glad it cleared for you. The little fishing guy is sure cute.

     
  17. 2sweetnsaxy

    July 7, 2009 at 2:27 am

    What a wonderful looking camp site. I’m so glad you shared these pics but it made me miss camping. I haven’t been in a very long time. Nothing like communing with nature when it’s by choice. 🙂

     
  18. Bonnie Bonsai

    July 7, 2009 at 2:47 am

    Very beautiful gathering my dear. I feel as if I was there myself. Fish and happy congenial company, that’s all that matters. Wonderful feeling for me!

    Photos of the wedding here to share with you as you are amongst the special fellow blogger.

     
  19. Gaelyn

    July 7, 2009 at 3:05 am

    Little Ethan is adorable. Shasta is still low I see. Looks like the folks who stayed were having fun.

     
  20. Elaine Ling

    July 7, 2009 at 4:35 am

    That little guy having a drink from the bottle is adorable, making him look all grown up 🙂

     
  21. Marites

    July 7, 2009 at 5:09 am

    I love the pic with the little guy-fisherman:) Sounds like inspite of the challenging first night, you had some good time. I miss camping, it’s been awhile.

     
  22. ladyfi

    July 7, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Oh, looks like an idyllic two days. And that little kid is just adorable!

     
  23. Arija

    July 7, 2009 at 8:37 am

    The best holidays often start off that way.I am sure those who left early were the poorer for it! Nice shots.

     
  24. Swarna

    July 7, 2009 at 9:11 am

    That young fishing guy looks like a pro already. Glad you had a lovely time.

     
  25. Wren

    July 7, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Looks like you had a great time, Ewok. I’m thinking that the Laotian/Thai meal made with fresh fish and eaten outside would have been a highlight of the weekend!

     
  26. Snap

    July 7, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    Looks like all of you had a wonderful time. I love the taste of fresh caught fish that are grilled! Thanks for taking us camping!

     
  27. Yogi

    July 7, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    It looks like a great time had by all. I also loved the picture of your son. You can tell he is indeed going to be another Fishing Guy.

     
  28. Fishing Guy

    July 11, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    Ewok: You look like it was a neat time, and the fishing looked really good.

     

Leave a comment