RSS

ABC Wednesday #31:

15 Jan

Playing ABC Wednesday on my 31st week now and this would be my first A. For my initial A, I share shots of anthurium that grows inside my living room :). My mother back in our days of living in the tropics grew anthuriums. She continues her love affair with them. So when she spotted a little anthurium pot in the nursery she immediately purchased it. The little plant has grown more than what I believe is expected of it, being an indoor plant and all.

One evening, it called out to me from the darkness of the living room. With very little light from the outside coming in through the thin curtains of the living room, I managed to take these shots. All are SOOC and all are from archives. The plant thrives until now.

coastal cleanup 228

coastal cleanup 227

coastal cleanup 226
Can you see the silhoutte of my little kitty in the background?

ABC WEDNESDAY

 
11 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2013 in ABC WEDNESDAY

 

11 responses to “ABC Wednesday #31:

  1. seniorhiker

    January 15, 2013 at 5:10 pm

    These are beautiful photos of your anthurium. Thanks for sharing them.

     
  2. Carver

    January 15, 2013 at 5:25 pm

    Your shot of this beautiful plant reminds me of how much I miss the one I used to have. Carver, ABC Wed. Team

     
  3. Roger Green

    January 15, 2013 at 5:38 pm

    welcome to the club;nice shots

    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

     
  4. photowannabe

    January 15, 2013 at 5:43 pm

    I like how you captured the waxy quality of the beautiful flower.
    Looking at the photos makes me want to go back and visit Hawaii.

     
  5. artmusedog

    January 15, 2013 at 6:30 pm

    Wonderful shot ~ beautiful ~ reminds me of a Cala Lily ~ great choice for ‘A’ ~

    (A Creative Harbor)

     
  6. lesliebc

    January 15, 2013 at 6:57 pm

    I’ve seen those plants before, but never knew what they were called. Now I know! Awesome shots!

    Leslie
    abcw team

     
  7. Richie

    January 15, 2013 at 9:05 pm

    I remember the first time I saw one, I thought it was an artificial plant.

    An Arkies Musings

     
  8. uberrhund

    January 16, 2013 at 4:05 am

    Every time I see one of these I am transported back to the tiny local florist shop when I first saw them around 1965! They were as amazing to me as if they appeared from another planet.

     
  9. Luna Miranda

    January 16, 2013 at 10:24 am

    was it Emma who was stalking the anthurium?:p
    my aunts in the province cultivate this flower. anthurium is one of the success stories of the cut flower industry here.

     
  10. docgelo

    January 16, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    great captures of your very own bloom!
    you must have a green thumb to keep this anthurium alive! 🙂

     
  11. Chubskulit Rose

    January 17, 2013 at 4:25 am

    Stunning captures! I love anthuriums!
    Catching up with ABC entries.

    Aunt
    Rose, ABC Wednesday Team

     

Leave a Reply

 
