RSS

Photo Hunt #175: Advertising/Zap

04 May

BCN_0012_1
When travelling in a foreign land, my rule is to try everything local and steer clear of American chain stores. However, the advertising of McDonalds in Barcelona would zap one’s resolve to stay away from anything American and try if their version of your Micky D coffee is the same as the ones they offer in Barcelona.

For the record, I did go in the store for a little iced tea :). The ones they serve stateside is far sweeter than the iced tea they offer in Barcelona.

ADVERTISING is the theme for GATTINA’S KEYHOLE PICTURES.

ZAP is the theme for SANDI’S WHISTLE STOP PHOTO HUNT.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on May 4, 2012 in photo hunt

 

15 responses to “Photo Hunt #175: Advertising/Zap

  1. Carver

    May 4, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    I’m like you about avoiding American fast food when I’ve traveled outside the U.S. (inside too for that matter). In the southern U.S. sweet tea is too sweet from me. I always asks servers to give me half and half since they usually have sweet and unsweetened at most restaurants. Half sweet and half unsweet is about right for me. I’ll admit that the ad would be tempting. Certainly more tempting that american McD ads.

     
  2. Sue St Clair

    May 4, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    Sometimes its a comfort to see something so familiar when travelling abroad šŸ™‚ Great pic!

     
  3. Annie

    May 4, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    I also avoid anything American when I’m traveling. For sure, the coffee here at home doesn’t look as good as that in the poster!

    Hope you have a great weekend.

     
  4. YTSL

    May 5, 2012 at 3:48 am

    Funny, just yesterday, some colleagues and I were talking about how it’s interesting that McDonald’s is associated with cultural colonialism but that McDonald’s actually does somewhat localize its menus in the world. E.g., looks like in Spain, it offers a wider range of coffees than in many other countries… and here in Hong Kong, it offers fried chicken and cups of corn! ;b

     
  5. Suzy

    May 5, 2012 at 4:21 am

    Nicely done. Maccas (as McD is affectionately known as in NZ) offer a kiwi burger. So I think they try to make it different everywhere.

     
  6. Kathy (Trekcapri)

    May 5, 2012 at 4:27 am

    Hi Ewok, very cool take on the two themes this week. šŸ™‚ I once bought a cup of Starbucks coffee while visiting Seville Spain and while I was walking back to my apartment, an older local gentlemen stopped to nicely lecture me. He pointed to the wonderful cafe/bar behind him as better place to get my coffee and he was right. That was the last Starbucks Coffee I bought while traveling. And the funny thing is I don’t even drink Starbucks at home.

    Wonderful photo and take. Have a great weekend.

     
  7. Mar

    May 5, 2012 at 6:44 am

    I used to go to McD when my son was little. I don’t anymore and that’s why although I live in Barcelona, I am the first suprised one to learn they offer a variety of coffee!
    Happy weekend.

     
  8. Luna Miranda

    May 5, 2012 at 6:51 am

    it’s comforting to see something familiar when you’re in a foreign country. and McDonald’s is a life saver when one couldn’t understand the local language…the photos of coffee and burgers are at least universal. kung wala McDo, malamang nalipasan kami ng gutom first day namin sa Paris! LOL

     
  9. Phoenix The Blogging Mama

    May 5, 2012 at 7:09 am

    It’s interesting how much cooler their sign looks than ours! lol šŸ˜‰ Great take on the theme! šŸ™‚

     
  10. docgelo

    May 5, 2012 at 1:46 pm

    the entire menu on this mcdo ad appeals to me! kaya lang sa spain pa. hahaha!

     
  11. Katnip Lounge

    May 5, 2012 at 3:15 pm

    It figures one would have to go to a foreign country to have Mickey Dee’s look *good*!

     
  12. sandi @the whistlestop cafe

    May 5, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    I will say that McD’s is a great spot when you are looking for a bathroom!
    What can you ‘scoop’ up next weekend?
    ~Sandi

     
  13. Peppylady(Dora)

    May 6, 2012 at 2:28 am

    Thanks for stop earlier for some coffee…your post remind me of a story I was told about a ex-brother in-law was at world fair in 1974 and would try any foreign food and had to have McDonald’s.

     
  14. eastcoastlife

    May 6, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    I too would prefer to search for the local food if I am in a foreign country. I do.sometimes try McDonald’s if it offers a local version of an item in its menu. In China’s and Indonesia’s McDonald restaurants, they serve rice with the fried chicken.

     
  15. Tania

    May 9, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    We found the very same thing when we traveled Spain. We tried, very hard, to avoid anything chain, but once, in Toledo I believe, we caved and tried a burger and fries. It was not the same, but it was because everything was fresher. We did try the McDonald’s bulgogi burger while in South Korea last year. It was worth the experience, but I’m never going back there.

     

Leave a Reply

 
