RSS

Signs, Signs #60:

04 Apr

In all my years of living in the San Francisco Bay area, I’ve never been to Alcatraz. I’ve been meaning to go, but it’s not high on my priority list. I’m sure I’ll get to go when friends would come for a visit and I’ll be tasked to show them around town. Isn’t that how locals get to see the tourist spots in their towns when families and friends visit and they get to show them around town?

Anyway, I have a couple of signs I shot when my husband and I went for a little Happy Hour sunset cruise of the bay. The cruise skirted by Alcatraz, close enough to get a decent shot. And here are what I captured.

sf0026

sf0027

sf0023

sf0025

I have blogged about this cruise here.

SIGNS.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on April 4, 2012 in SIGNS

 

13 responses to “Signs, Signs #60:

  1. RedPat

    April 4, 2012 at 5:32 pm

    I haven’t been to many of the tourist attractions here in Toronto either! Funny isn’t it?

     
  2. Luna Miranda

    April 4, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    Alcatraz was one of my first destinations during my first visit to SFo.:p
    what you said is so true…the first time I was in Luneta and Intramuros was when I had to bring an American friend. :p

     
  3. egwow

    April 4, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    I’m afraid I might find a tour of the prison way too depressing.

     
  4. genie

    April 5, 2012 at 12:51 am

    Seeing your pictures is enough for me. I do not think I would ever want to visit. Your photos are wonderful and show us so much. It really is out there in the middle of the water. genie

     
  5. Lindy MacDuff

    April 5, 2012 at 3:21 am

    Your images are excellent, and I particularly like the last one.

    I’ve visited Alcatraz twice, once in the early ’70s and once in the early ’80s, when I was visiting family who lived in Pacifica at the time. It was a great tour for historical purposes. I can only imagine how worse for the wear it looks now as it was in pretty rough shape even back then.

     
  6. Ebie

    April 5, 2012 at 4:34 am

    Those signs remind me of Clint Eastwood;s movie.

     
  7. J Bar

    April 5, 2012 at 6:20 am

    Interesting.

     
  8. Andy

    April 5, 2012 at 9:13 am

    All prisons scare me.

     
  9. Halcyon

    April 5, 2012 at 9:28 am

    I’ve only been to San Fran once and I didn’t make it to Alcatraz either. I thi kit would be interesting though. I’m somehow fascinated with the dark underside of things.

     
  10. kulaspro

    April 5, 2012 at 11:59 am

    The only time I get to see our local tourist attractions is when I have out of town visitors or I am scouting for an interesting place to take them.

     
  11. kulaspro

    April 5, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    The only time I get to see our local tourist attractions is when I have out of town visitors or when I am scouting for interesting places to take them.

     
  12. sheng

    April 5, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    I wanna blog about something worth blogging that would compel me to write on a daily basis, quotes maybe, coupled with a photo of something. However,unlike you, I’m not much of a photographer.

     
  13. Sallie (FullTime-Life)

    April 5, 2012 at 7:07 pm

    We did visit there once years ago — amazing how the signs are still there after so long.

     

Leave a Reply

 
