RSS

My World #117: What’s Growing in my backyard

02 May

I’m not much of a gardener, but my husband and my mother both have green thumbs. I help out as much as I could, carrying mulch, digging, weeding, watering. And when they grow I show them off here and take credit for them 🙂

So here are a few of what’s growing and blooming in my backyard as of April 22, 2011.

IMG_7321
Our mixed salad greens grow so well in container. Every summer we enjoy salad greens and even give some away to friends.

IMG_7335
This container pot miraculously appeared in our front yard. We asked everyone we know, family and friends, if they left the pot for us to use when we were not home. But no one said they did. We kept the pot outside where we found it for months and finally this planting season we decided to use it. We planted herbs on it.

IMG_7323
Our pathetic vegetable plot. We had gopher attacks so it’s hard to grow anything. We put in chicken wire underneath all the dirt so let’s see what happens.

IMG_7331
Now I take credit for this beautiful bloom. I water it and fertilize it 🙂

IMG_7329
This rose plant has big blooms. It came with the house so I don’t know what kind it is, but we have 3 of this kind.
IMG_7328
The cymbidiums – they are always prolific every year.
IMG_7327

Show your world at MY WORLD.

 
23 Comments

Posted by on May 2, 2011 in My World

 

23 responses to “My World #117: What’s Growing in my backyard

  1. seniorhiker

    May 2, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    I think you deserve to take credit for the growth in your garden. There would be no growth without your carrying, watering and fertilizing. I hope the chicken wire stops any further gopher attacks. I like your rose. Ours are just starting to bloom.

     
  2. Martha Z

    May 2, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    Spring is in full bloom here in the central valley. If my salad greens don’t hurry to harvest size it will be too hot.

     
  3. Boom & Gary

    May 2, 2011 at 8:24 pm

    Grand to see the growth!! Boom & Gary of the Vermilon River, Canada.

     
  4. Sylvia Kirkwood

    May 2, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    Gorgeous flowers!! You can take credit for those! The other garden problems sound like the ones I use to have!! Love your photos for the day! Hope you have a great week!

    Sylvia

     
  5. Sallie (FullTime-Life)

    May 2, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    Looks lovely there — summery even!

     
  6. joco

    May 2, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    You have cymbidiums outside????
    And in such profusion.
    Well, in that case, if it were me, I wouldn’t ever bother with anything else.
    you have reached the pinnacle of gardening.
    BTW, I’m trying to remember where it is you grow those delicious orchids.

     
  7. Al

    May 2, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    That’s a beautiful yard – you’ve definitely got more a green thumb than me. Of course, it doesn’t help that our growing season is so short, as we are still getting snow (and thunder today, at the same time).

     
  8. LifeRamblings

    May 2, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    a lovely backyard and you deserved a lot of credit for those beautiful blooms in your garden. 🙂

     
  9. Rajesh

    May 3, 2011 at 1:23 am

    You have a really nice garden with beautiful flowers.

     
  10. Eve (Tranquility... & Turmoil)

    May 3, 2011 at 1:34 am

    It’s so exciting to see everything blooming and growing! It was a slow start, but Spring has finally sprung around my home too. 😀

     
  11. ladyfi

    May 3, 2011 at 3:21 am

    Wonderful blooms! And are those wine bottles I see…

     
    • ewok1993

      May 3, 2011 at 3:40 pm

      yes! they are wine bottles. my husband saw a garden that was decorated with empty wine bottles and it was pretty.

       
  12. Jenn

    May 3, 2011 at 7:24 am

    Oh I wish I lived near you so yo can spare me some salad greens 😀 I am not much of a green thumb too and I know that those beautiful flowers will not survive with me as its caretaker. Heehee!

     
  13. Wren

    May 3, 2011 at 8:23 am

    Credit is due- nurturing a garden is hard work! You’re having great results so far.

    I hope the chicken wire heps with gophers, even if they are cute little critters.

    PS. I also hope your proclamation about snow is correct. But just to be safe, I’m only saying that here and not on my own blog. 🙂

     
  14. Stewart M - Australia

    May 3, 2011 at 9:46 am

    Hi there – I can’t help but wonder if the gophers left the wine bottles against the fence as well as eating your plants!! Really bad behaviour! 🙂

    Stewart M – Australia

     
  15. EG Wow, Canada

    May 3, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    I think it’s amazing that you can grow orchids in your gardens!

     
  16. Ebie

    May 3, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    You have a green thumb too! Those cymbidiums are blooming well!

     
  17. Marites

    May 3, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    i love gardening too but gardens are not forte. I can’t keep a plant alive even if I pray on it. Your blooms are really pretty!

     
  18. Indrani

    May 3, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    Beautiful captures.

     
  19. genie

    May 4, 2011 at 12:46 am

    WOW! Your roses and cymbidiums are gorgeous. I have beaver grown roses…but I am great with weeds and dandelions. Loved the post.

     
  20. Sandy Carlson

    May 4, 2011 at 3:03 am

    Very beautiful.

     
  21. docgelo

    May 4, 2011 at 3:44 am

    i wish we could have a garden like yours! hats off to your husband and your mom for having green thumb and to you of course for taking efforts of caring for those blooms.

    we’ll transfer to a new condo on the 3rd week of july and we’ll try to spice it up with greens too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
