RSS

My World #109: Spring Sightings

07 Mar

We have had a rainy winter. It is raining today. However, I like what I see in my backyard. It’s spring back there. The birds are back and I have four regular cat visitors. They probably like my backyard, or else they were there for the birds that come and feed.

Here’s how my backyard is looking the last month.
IMG_7109
The apple tree is blooming.
IMG_7106
Do you remember this post I wrote in the fall when I was voicing my confusion at my apple tree? Well all winter long we had some sort of apples on the tree, they never really grew.
IMG_7104
Fun to see blooms and fruit together at the same time.
IMG_7119
This plum tree was very prolific last summer. We had a big harvest and it looks like a repeat this year, fingers crossed.
IMG_7115
It’s coming y’all, spring is here!

Share your world here.

 
26 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2011 in My World

 

26 responses to “My World #109: Spring Sightings

  1. barb

    March 7, 2011 at 2:16 am

    It’s truly wonderful to see these spring blossoms! It does look strange to see the little dried fruit and the blooms, too. Wonder why that occurred? That first photo is so pretty!

     
  2. Alexander

    March 7, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    Very beautiful flowers. It’s Spring! 🙂

    Alexander
    Alex’s World! – http://www.kakinan.com/alex

     
  3. seniorhiker

    March 7, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    Thanks for sharing all your beautiful signs of Spring with us. Now, will you please send Spring eastward?

     
  4. Gizelle

    March 7, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    I’m biased when it comes to photos of flower against a blue sky…3rd foto is my fave! (we still have to endure a bit…)

     
  5. Sylvia Kirkwood

    March 7, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    I had to look to last year for flower shots for the day, but I have seen a couple of tiny buds peeking out earlier today! What a delight! Can’t wait! Have a lovely week!

    Sylvia

     
  6. EG Wow, Canada

    March 7, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    The aroma…I think I can smell those blossoms, Ewok!

     
  7. Eve (Tranquility... & Turmoil)

    March 7, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    Beautiful… I’m really looking forward to seeing Spring around here! 😀

     
  8. Kay Davies

    March 7, 2011 at 9:51 pm

    Wonderful spring pictures! Our part of the world is still covered in snow.
    I love the fruit and blossoms together. I’m going to send a link to this post to my friends in British Columbia’s Okanagan Valley. They were apple orchardists for years and I’m sure they’ll enjoy this.
    If I were you, I’d send the photos to a magazine, or to the botanical department of the nearest university, or something.
    — K

    Kay, Alberta, Canada
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

     
    • ewok1993

      March 7, 2011 at 9:54 pm

      thanks kay. my husband suggested the same thing. i’m looking into sending it to our local newspapers home and garden section.

       
  9. LifeRamblings

    March 7, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    you’ve such a beautiful backyard. your photos are gorgeous especially the apple tree. Happy spring!

     
  10. bw

    March 7, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    spring is officially a couple of weeks away from where I am. I’m excited to see the bloom.

     
  11. Al

    March 7, 2011 at 11:50 pm

    Very pretty and nice to see, since spring won’t arrive in my part of the world for some time yet. It’s snowing right now!

     
  12. Indrani

    March 8, 2011 at 12:42 am

    Delicate and beautiful.

     
  13. Rajesh

    March 8, 2011 at 1:22 am

    Your backyard is full of beautiful blooms.

     
  14. Catherine

    March 8, 2011 at 1:39 am

    lovely to see all the fresh signs of Spring…

     
  15. Frostbite & Sunburn

    March 8, 2011 at 2:11 am

    Spring is coming, spring is coming – if I keep telling myself, it will be true! Lovely, lovely blossoms.

     
  16. genie

    March 8, 2011 at 3:34 am

    Your shots of the blooms in your yard are wonderful. We have 2 apple trees in our yard and neither has ever given us a single bloom in 32 years….so sad. I would love to have a yard full of fruit trees. That would be heavenly.

     
  17. ladyfi

    March 8, 2011 at 4:40 am

    How wonderful to have a garden full of blossoms! Lovely photos.

     
  18. Randi, Sweden

    March 8, 2011 at 6:08 am

    I love your spring blossoms! Wonderful shots. I´m still waiting for a spring sign…

     
  19. Wren

    March 8, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    We have signs of spring too, but yours are much prettier. I’m looking forward to photos of your yard flourishing this summer.

     
  20. Gary

    March 8, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    Sure rub it in!! Boom & Gary of the Vermilon River, Canada.

     
  21. Yoshi

    March 8, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    Yes, Spring is there! It’s always fun to see photos of lovely flowers!

     
  22. kayni

    March 8, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    i love these photos. i hope spring comes sooner.

     
  23. Francisca

    March 8, 2011 at 8:01 pm

    Now that I am in a colder climate, I find myself anticipating spring too! Lovely blossoms you captured!

     
  24. Marites

    March 8, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    woah! those flowers are really beautiful! lovely shots! Those apples look like they got really cold…have a nice day! thanks for visiting my blog:)

     
  25. anki-itte

    March 9, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    Beautiful photos , I am waiting for springs

     

Leave a Reply

 
