RSS

My World #86: Grant Street

06 Sep

Grant Avenue
Grant Avenue is one of the oldest streets in Chinatown. Originally, it was named Calle de la Fundacion (street of the founding) in 1845 in the pueblo of Yerba Buena. When California was ceded to the Union in 1846, the street was renamed Dupont Street, honoring an admiral from the USS Portsmouth. By the late 1800s, the street had gained an unsavory reputation being part of the Barbary Coast Trail along with Tong wars, sing-sing girls, and opium dens. After the 1906 earthquake, Dupont Street was upgraded and its image changed. It was changed to Grant Avenue to honor President Ulysses S. Grant, the 18th president of the United States. Some older members of the Chinese community still call it “Du Pon Gai”. Gai means “street” in Chinese.[source]

IMG_1129
Grant Street is the main artery of Chinatown.Β  The SF Chinatown is the largest Chinatown outside of Asia and the oldest in North America.

One of my favorite things to do when in Chinatown is walk the length of Grant Street. About two blocks of Grant Street from the junction with California Street are jewelry stores next to each other. I don’t buy, but I look – a lot!!!! It’s free to look right?

SHOW YOUR WORLD here.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2010 in My World

 

22 responses to “My World #86: Grant Street

  1. witsandnuts

    September 6, 2010 at 6:18 am

    I think I will forever be fascinated with Chinatowns. πŸ™‚ So colorful.

     
  2. Carver

    September 6, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    These are great shots. I’m with you about not buying but doing a lot of looking. That’s what I like to do too.

     
  3. Sylvia Kirkwood

    September 6, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    What a fun looking, colorful street! I’d love to walk/look with no buying, too! Maybe you and Carver and I can do that some day! Hope your week is off to a great start!

    Sylvia

     
  4. ladyfi

    September 6, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    I love the colours, and that tram car! So picturesque!

     
  5. noel

    September 6, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    aloha,

    what a beautiful views of chinatown, i like to take visitors there also, including stockton street for the real deal πŸ™‚

    i have an interesting place to visit today on my sari site

     
  6. rosadimaggio63

    September 6, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    Wow,
    grande confusione di cinesi !!!!
    In Italia siamo sommersi !!!
    Comunque a me piacciono πŸ™‚

     
  7. Denise

    September 6, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    That would be a great place to window shop. I loved all the street scenes. Great post!

     
  8. Tes

    September 6, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Lovely photos of an interesting street. China towns all over the world hold so many similarities, and am sure goods are as inexpensive as elsewhere. Good capture of a busy street. πŸ™‚

     
  9. seniorhiker

    September 6, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    I remember the song “Grant Avenue” from “Flower Drum Song” — it’s going to be going through my head for the rest of the day. But it is nice to have some pictures to go with the melody.

     
  10. EG Wow, Canada

    September 6, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    I would enjoy spending time there, for sure!

     
  11. Starnitesky

    September 6, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Great views of Chinatown, this looks like a good place to window shop.

     
  12. SandyCarlson

    September 6, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    What a busy street, and what a history of names! Talk about dynamic. Great shot.

     
  13. Kay Davies

    September 6, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    Had to laugh with Seniorhiker’s comment. My head won’t let go of “Grant Avenue, SAN Francisco, CALifornia, U S A”!! Guess that makes me a senior, too.
    Beautiful photos. I love San Francisco and, like many others, I enjoy any town with a Chinatown in it. So beautiful, with great window shopping as you said, and also good food!! I love Chinatown in my home city, Vancouver, BC.
    Kay
    Alberta, Canada

     
  14. life ramblings

    September 6, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    what a colourful street and it’s interesting to see Chinatown in different cities.

     
  15. Jossie

    September 7, 2010 at 12:38 am

    What a colourful street. I would love to do some window shopping there πŸ˜‰

     
  16. docgelo

    September 7, 2010 at 1:44 am

    chinatown at any place is always fascinating.
    ….i miss san francisco!

     
  17. geogypsy

    September 7, 2010 at 3:04 am

    Love to walk and eat in Chinatown. Plus look at all the people and trinkets. You mean you’re not suppose to buy the jewelry. πŸ˜‰

     
  18. luna miranda

    September 7, 2010 at 4:43 am

    Chinatown is always my first destination when I’m in San Francisco. SFo is usually the last leg of my trip and i’d be craving for familiar tastes, sounds and scents. terrific photos.

     
  19. magiceye

    September 7, 2010 at 6:04 am

    colorful street and interesting history

     
  20. Rob Inukshuk

    September 7, 2010 at 7:44 am

    A bustling and very colourful part of town – I know, I’ve been there!

     
  21. ann chin

    September 8, 2010 at 10:03 am

    That limegreen building with pink and orange pillars is very striking. How unusual for a chinese building,

     
  22. carolyUSA

    September 9, 2010 at 12:43 am

    I love the colors in these photos, but, China Towns are noted for color color color! Nice shots of fun streets to explore!

     

Leave a Reply

 
