RSS

My World #82: The Log Cabin

09 Aug

IMG_0873

It still amazes how many things about San Francisco I didn’t know despite having moved around the area for nearly 2 decades. Take for instance the Presidio. I take it for granted the many tourists spots in the city including the Presidio. And when one day we were in the neighborhood and had time to kill, we thought we’d drive around the Presidio and explore. And I found this LOG CABIN. I don’t know what it’s for but after snapping the photo and checked on the Presidio website I found that “This former non-commissioned officers’ club has traditionally been a lively and festive gathering place. The rustic charm of this historic venue is unlike anything else in the Bay Area.

The Presidio Log Cabin is available for reception rentals daily, year round, except for national holidays including Christmas Eve and Day as well as New Year’s Eve and Day. ” So now I now.

Show your world over at MY WORLD, hosted by the same dynamic group of people who bring us Skywatch.

 
26 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

26 responses to “My World #82: The Log Cabin

  1. louise

    August 9, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    Great find! Exploring has led me to many many serendipitous finds as well! 🙂

     
  2. Carver

    August 9, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    That looks like a charming log cabin. It’s fun to find new places in around home base. My brother has lived in and around San Francisco for over 20 years, first in the city and after marrying and having kids they’ve had a house in Mill Valley. I haven’t visited much since I’m on the east coast but when I have, he’s mentioned that it’s fun having visitors because he takes them places he rarely goes himself. I’m the same way where I live. I try to think of interesting places to take visitors who are seldom if ever in this area, and often I take them places I haven’t been or rarely been to before.

     
  3. Sylvia Kirkwood

    August 9, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    That is fun, finding those places you never knew about before. Great shot! I’d enjoy stopping by there some day! Hope your week is off to a good start! Enjoy!

    Sylvia

     
  4. EG Wow, Canada

    August 9, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    It makes me feel better to know that I’m not the only one who has lived in a place for a long time and not been aware of all the treasures there. 🙂

     
  5. Jane

    August 9, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    Interesting find, love the blue sky too. Nice new look EWOK and thanks for sharing:)

     
  6. Fishing Guy

    August 9, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    Ewok: That is really a cool find.

     
  7. life ramblings

    August 9, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    love the log cabin with the combination of the clear blue sky.

     
  8. Joann Shipley

    August 9, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    That’s a big log cabin and it has a fancy tile roof.
    Interesting pic.

     
  9. Rob Inukshuk

    August 9, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    Isn’t it strange when you discover something that’s been hiding right under your nose in a place you thought you knew. I love the reminder that we can always find something new. Looks like a fab log cabin too.

     
  10. Siromade

    August 9, 2010 at 11:33 pm

    Seek and you shall find and that’s what you find an interesting look of the log cabin, what a great world to be there..

     
  11. Wren

    August 9, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    Wouldn’t that be a fun place for a party? I’ve been to SF several times, and never knew this existed.

     
  12. Al

    August 10, 2010 at 12:14 am

    That is a beautiful (and surprising) thing to find. Nice shot!

     
  13. Indrani

    August 10, 2010 at 12:17 am

    Very interesting, great atmosphere there.

     
  14. robert

    August 10, 2010 at 12:47 am

    Surely a place one would love to be locked in. Please have a great Tuesday.

     
  15. Julie

    August 10, 2010 at 12:47 am

    I spend a lot of my week digging around places in my city that I know well, to see what little gems I have been missing. I am glad that I am not the only one. We don’t have log cabins here in Australia but we do have plant huts and wattle’n’daub huts. Just a different way of building in the old days of my city.

     
  16. Rajesh

    August 10, 2010 at 1:13 am

    Great shot and wonderful history.

     
  17. January

    August 10, 2010 at 2:34 am

    great find! thanks for sharing.

    visit mine here

     
  18. Pat

    August 10, 2010 at 4:09 am

    My hubby and I were at the Presidio last year for a wedding reception, but we didn’t happen to see this log cabin–it’s very unique looking. We’ll have to look for it next time. Great shot!

     
  19. luna miranda

    August 10, 2010 at 5:43 am

    charming! log cabins remind me of Baguio, of fire-places, cold weather and fog.:p it’s great that you found this place and shared it with us.

     
  20. Bram

    August 10, 2010 at 5:44 am

    Nice Photo and wonderful history

    Greetings, Bram

    Seen on My World Tuesday

     
  21. ladyfi

    August 10, 2010 at 6:06 am

    How delightfully rustic! Such a lovely cabin… what a great find.

     
  22. Jossie

    August 10, 2010 at 10:47 am

    Great find. Lovely cabin. Funny how we overlook things that are so near.

     
  23. Shey

    August 10, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    I know what you mean. I’ve been here for almost 3 years in the bay area now and still haven’t seen the Lombard street. It’s usually one of the places tourists visit. It’s time to check it out & act like tourists.

    Have a great week. Thanks for stopping by my page. 🙂

     
  24. zeal4adventure

    August 11, 2010 at 1:15 am

    Isn’t it thrilling to find interesting treasures just around your neighborhood? Now how could you have missed this beautiful log cabin?? 😉

     
  25. Alicesg

    August 11, 2010 at 1:16 am

    The log cabin is very beautiful. We dont get to see any of them over here.

     
  26. Dave Q, UK

    August 11, 2010 at 9:51 am

    great shot and a great find.

     

Leave a Reply

 
