RSS

Watery Wednesday #58:

11 May

Three years ago we went on an Alaskan cruise.  It was a 7-day cruise with three ports of call. Our last one was in Skagway, where we signed up for a tour that took us to the mountains and crossed the border to Canada’s Yukon territory. 

Along the way, our tour stopped at waterfalls like this.  They are along the road.  Our tour guide passed paper cups and asked us if we wanted to taste fresh glacial water from melting glacier and snow.

The picture above is a shot of another tour group.  The one below is where my husband boldly went down to where he can fetch the water for us. I didn’t attempt to go down as there was no trail and while it wasn’t a steep descent, the rocks were slick.

It’s the freshest invigorating water I’ve ever tasted.  I know I have been digging into my box of oldies.  You all can relate I’m sure about taking too many pictures at one time and forgetting all about them.

Water, water everywhere.  WATERY WEDNESDAY is a good place to spot some.  Go visit.  And say hi to our wonderful host, 2sweetnsaxy.

 
23 Comments

Posted by on May 11, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

23 responses to “Watery Wednesday #58:

  1. JennJilks

    May 11, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    I know what you mean about too many shots. I’ve spent nearly an hour (relaxing) but looking for a photo of a bonfire I had…oiuy.

    My Muskoka is cold, but I’m warm indoors in Ottawa!

     
  2. eileeninmd

    May 11, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Wonderful photos and memories of your Alaska trip. The waterfall is beautiful!

     
  3. Laura Hegfield

    May 11, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    Gorgeous falls…the power of the water can be so mesmerizing to sit and gaze upon.

     
  4. maryt/theteach

    May 11, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    Was cinderella (The lady in the long blue dress) your tour guide? Great shots, ewok! 🙂

     
  5. Melissa

    May 11, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    Your photos make me want to schedule a trip to Alaska right now! I’m visiting from Watery Wednesday. Fun.

     
  6. Gemma@Greyscale

    May 11, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    A wonderful display of water falling! Amazing that it is all just near the roadside!

     
  7. EG Wow, Canada

    May 11, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    I love seeing photos from your archives and YES I can relate to taking too many photos at one time and then forgetting about them. LOL

     
  8. A Garden of Threads

    May 11, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    Lovely picture of the waterfalls. I hope you enjoyed your trip.

     
  9. noel

    May 11, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    aloha,

    what a beautiful water view, nice to walk up to something like this….thanks for sharing this today

    my watery views are on my sari sari blog if you would like to see this.

     
  10. Rinkly Rimes

    May 11, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    I’ve never been to Alaska but I found the water in Canada unbelievably cold and pure. Lovely.

     
  11. eden

    May 12, 2010 at 12:21 am

    Beautiful captures of the waterfalls. Thanks for sharing.

     
  12. Ebie

    May 12, 2010 at 12:45 am

    What a challenge to hike the “rugged” trails to the falls. Beautiful!

     
  13. Faythe @GrammyMousetails

    May 12, 2010 at 3:00 am

    I bet the water was wonderful, with all the aeration & being from fresh frozen tundra! My WW is both dry & wet! and a mystery still continues…
    my first visit, I envy your wonderful trips!

     
  14. Martha Z

    May 12, 2010 at 3:24 am

    Memes give us an excuse to revisit our old shots. Alaska is an amazing place.

     
  15. Luna

    May 12, 2010 at 9:46 am

    Wonderful disply of watery falling!
    Happy WW!

     
  16. Siromade

    May 12, 2010 at 10:16 am

    What a wonderful place to stop by, that waterfalls looks absolutely beautiful. You must enjoy ur trip and the cruising..

     
  17. yogi

    May 12, 2010 at 11:30 am

    What a treat. We have an Alaskan cruise on her want to list.

     
  18. Valerie

    May 12, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    My husband who has no interest in taking a cruise always says he would take the Alaskan one. It would be amazing to taste the water there and of course see the scenery. I am sure it was breathtaking. Valerie

     
  19. Ladynred

    May 12, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    That is beautiful waterfalls. I can’t see the 2nd photo.

     
  20. Ladynred

    May 12, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    I see it now after I posted my comment. It’s gorgeous falls.

     
  21. Spiderdama

    May 12, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    Great post for WW. Picture nr 2 is wonderful!

     
  22. docgelo

    May 13, 2010 at 8:52 am

    your photos are as refreshing as the splashes from the falls.

     
  23. Cai

    May 14, 2010 at 3:01 am

    Great picture

     

Leave a Reply

 
