RSS

Sky Watch #89:

06 May

This series of drive by shooting was in January.  Hubs and I were driving home from a pre-op appointment with the surgeon.  I was filled with fear, confusion, and more fear.  But I brought my camera and started to shoot the sky while he drove.

I didn’t stop shooting even though we reached the freeway.  Watching the sky and taking pictures of it calmed my nerves.

My husband who normally would beg me to stop shooting as a running joke was quiet.  By the time we reached home, he went to fetch his car and then we both went to our separate jobs, I was feeling fine.  I thank skywatching for its power of healing – a broken heart, an injured spirit. 

SKYWATCH is a weekly gathering of sky lovers and sky watchers. Please join us.

 
33 Comments

Posted by on May 6, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

33 responses to “Sky Watch #89:

  1. Spiderdama

    May 6, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Great skies and that bridge is wonderful!

     
  2. REGINA

    May 6, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Wonderful skies. I totally agree. Looking up really bring us deepest joy.
    Have a wonderful weekend dear one.
    xo

     
  3. Rajesh

    May 6, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    Superb series of highway shots.

     
  4. Sylvia Kirkwood

    May 6, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    I do so relate to what you have written! Sky watching has been better than anything for some major frustrations! Terrific captures and a great post as always! Enjoy your weekend!

    Sylvia

     
  5. Sallie (FullTime-:Life)

    May 6, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    Ewok — I too know what you mean about using your camera to release tension, but feel as if I should say more. I’m new to your lovely blog, so am not sure if you’ve said anything further. I hope all is well or getting better and that watching the sky is working magic for you and your husband.

     
  6. Carver

    May 6, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    This was a beautiful sequence of shots and I’m glad it was healing for you to shoot the sky. I find photography to be very healing.

     
  7. Manang Kim

    May 6, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    I think sky watching is a therapy. It also lifted my spirit when I see a beautiful sky. Some can’t understand this but we sky watchers do ^_^ Happy weekend!

    SkyWatchFriday

     
  8. Rob Inukshuk

    May 6, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    Nice pics of your world and interesting to know the back story too. Take care.

     
  9. EG Wow, Canada

    May 6, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    I agree that photography is magic medicine. 🙂

     
  10. Pearl Maple

    May 6, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    Great post and so very true about the power of sky watching, it is always there on show for free for us to appreciate and can be kind of handy to take your mind off of other things.

     
  11. Fishing Guy

    May 6, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    Ewok: We at SWF are certainly glad you always share your skies with the group.

     
  12. blue

    May 6, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    great captures and lovely colors of skies…

     
  13. Vernz

    May 6, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    gray skies …. lovely capture…

    Happy Weekend!
    God Bless The Philippines

     
  14. Pam

    May 6, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    Great on the go sky shots. A camera can be a powerful tool for calming anxiety. I know it has a very calming effect on me. Hope all go well… keep smiling 🙂

     
  15. Arlene

    May 7, 2010 at 12:07 am

    i can so much relate taking shots of the sky while taveling. but yours are nicely taken. looking up at the sky when i don’t feel good inside also relieves me. the huge and wide sky gives me that feeling of always hopeful. 🙂

    thanks for the visit!

     
  16. Siromade

    May 7, 2010 at 12:15 am

    Beautiful series of skies photo. I like taking photos of anything when hubs and I were driving around too. very fun.

     
  17. Ebie

    May 7, 2010 at 12:31 am

    I am with you, about sky watching and more so on photography. As a hobby, it has helped released tension and a form of de-stress.

    I hope you are doing OK now.

    Take care.

     
  18. Willa

    May 7, 2010 at 1:30 am

    your photo of the skies doesn’t show any sign of nervousness. 🙂

     
  19. Carol

    May 7, 2010 at 1:36 am

    You are too kind a person to have a broken heart and an injured spirit…. but it happens to the best of us and I wish with all my heart that you were not a recipient of such unhappiness, whatever it may be. You bring much joy and pleasure to everyone with your photo treasures. Sending you warm wishes and hugs to let you know that you are a special lady and I think of you often. Be well, dear friend…. ♥

     
  20. Al

    May 7, 2010 at 2:30 am

    Interesting series of shots. Those look like huge roads. I hope everything went well.

     
  21. Grace Olsson

    May 7, 2010 at 4:18 am

    the second one is like a photo takes by wide angle.congrats

     
  22. luna miranda

    May 7, 2010 at 4:30 am

    i hope you’re feeling better…heart and spirit mended. sky-watching is definitely relaxing–makes us realize how big the universe is, how everything in it is important and has a place to fill. cheer up!

     
  23. Jossie

    May 7, 2010 at 9:08 am

    Great captures. The second picture with the bridge is great. It looks like the bridge is lifted to let you through.

     
  24. ann chin

    May 7, 2010 at 9:30 am

    you feeling better now?

    The long bridge must have been hard to photograph.

     
  25. Kcalpesh

    May 7, 2010 at 11:37 am

    That’s a different way how skywatch helped you get better! Looks like the day ahead was nice 🙂

     
  26. Linnea

    May 7, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    Your writing is as captivating as your photography! Glad your surgery is behind you. I guess skywatching can be a beneficial form of therapy!

     
  27. Laura Hegfield

    May 7, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    I do the same thing in the car as a passenger…and I call it “drive by shooting” too…which my family thinks is in poor taste…but I think it is an opportunity to shift the perception of what that phrase can mean!…I find looking up at the sky and taking photos to be incredibly healing too. I hope things are better for you now.

     
  28. Wren

    May 8, 2010 at 1:12 am

    I believe that is the nicest thing I’ve heard said about Skywatch, ever. Thank you for sharing your beautiful, comforting skies with us.

     
  29. Misalyn

    May 8, 2010 at 5:43 am

    I hope everything went well. Nice series of sky shots. I am with you about the power of skywatching. Whenever I feel so tired and I still need to come for work, I just take my camera with me and watch the sky. Clicking is one my way of destressing and whenever I am weary, I just look up in the sky and thank the Creator for all the blessings.

     
  30. Tara R.

    May 8, 2010 at 11:49 am

    Lovely set of sky shots. I find getting out with my camera has a similar calming effect too. I hope your surgery went well and you’re fully recovered now.

     
  31. eden

    May 8, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    Fantastic captures, Ewok! I hope you are feeling better now.

     
  32. jabblog uk

    May 8, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    Lovely shots and I’m glad they brought you peace. Looking up into the vastness of space puts everything in perspective.

     
  33. shaker

    May 9, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    Photoshooting is often a necessity !
    Keep doing it and take care !

     

Leave a Reply

 
