RSS

Sky Watch #86:

15 Apr

Ever since I joinoed Sky Watch I got pretty OC with snapping sky photos.  I do it all the time, walking in the park, getting my groceries, or riding in cars.  And I become manic.  I shoot and shoot and drive my husband crazy by my constant snapping.   As a result I have quite a few of sky shots in my archive.  So I was pretty dismayed to find these images still sitting there.

We were driving home from a camping trip in Lake Shasta on a hot, dry California summer .   I am not sure now if this was in I-5 or in Hwy 505.  The sky was particularly pretty that day.

And in my skywatching I noticed something in the sky I haven’t seen before. I don’t know what it was.  I begged my husband to look up and see if I was seeing what I was seeing.  But he was more interested in driving.  As you can see from the first image, there was hardly any traffic that time so he could take a peek, but he didn’t see it.

And so I took a closer shot, maxed out my zoom capability.  Only when we uploaded it on the computer did my husband see that I saw.  Can anyone help in identifying this “phenomenon”?

Skywatch is a weekly gathering of sky lovers and sky watchers. Please join us.

 
37 Comments

Posted by on April 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

37 responses to “Sky Watch #86:

  1. Spiderdama

    April 15, 2010 at 10:37 am

    Wonder where this road goes to..great sky and it`s wonderful colors.

     
  2. docgelo

    April 15, 2010 at 11:56 am

    i like the first photo!
    very poetic.
    nice!

     
  3. Alicesg

    April 15, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    I too would keep looking up at the sky since I join skywatch. But lately, I run out of sky photos. I have to look at the sky again…lol. Your series of sky photos are amazing and lovely.

     
  4. syel

    April 15, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    hhhmmm, no idea about this phenomenon. but i do agree, ever since i’ve joined sky watch, i’ve become anal about sky photos. which is a little obvious! 😀 love the first shot! btw, both of us posted drive by shots! 🙂

     
  5. Dewdrop

    April 15, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    I have the same problem. My husband has embraced it, and he will actually call me to point out exciting weather or sky phenomena, but my daughter rolls her eyes and gnashes her teeth. She is not the sky watching fan that I am, and it usually embarasses her when I stop to shoot, especially on my car pool days, but her friends are really nice about seeming interested in learning what something is, or why it happens. I love the sky and all it has to offer.

    What you have captured is a rare circumhorizontal arc. I’ve heard it referred to as a “rainbow of fire”. They are awesome, aren’t they?! Here are links to more information and other pics. http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2006/06/060619-rainbow-fire.html and http://www.komonews.com/weather/blog/21571419.html I have never seen one in person that I can recall.

     
  6. Dewdrop

    April 15, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    P.S. I have posted my Sky Watch. Feel free to come back and see what we did. 😀

     
  7. Regina

    April 15, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    Awesome skies and captures.
    Very rare phenomenon I haven’t seen a cloud like that here.
    Like an Aurora on a Northern Hemisphere.
    Happy SWF dear one.

     
  8. seniorhiker

    April 15, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    I haven’t captured anything like this, but I do like all of your sky pictures.

     
  9. Rajesh

    April 15, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    Great shots.

     
  10. Sylvia Kirkwood

    April 15, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    I’ve become a total photography nut myself, drive my family crazy! I posted some different looking clouds today, too, and yours are somewhat similar. We have these here in the northwest now and then, but I’d never seen any like them before. These are fabulous shots although I’m not sure what they’re called! Great post for the day!

    Sylvia

     
  11. Pearl Maple

    April 15, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    Great photos and how true about Sky Watch prompting us to appreciate the show that nature is putting on up there. Like the thin whispy clouds, ever so pretty.

     
  12. Diane AZ

    April 15, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    Those rainbow colors on the cloud are awesome. I’ve seen “sun dogs” but they are small and faint compared to what you’ve captured.

     
  13. kim

    April 15, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    I was not also into sky watching before but since I join it here I became one fanatic sky watcher lol. Now your picture is awesome the colors is what I noticed immediately and because of Dewdrop I know now what is this. Wish I could see like that too, crossing my fingers! Happy weekend!

     
  14. lightbluelife

    April 15, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    very nicw and lovely blue skies….and the road was so clean…..hope all roads are like yours….

     
  15. eden

    April 15, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    Those are really beautiful. I haven’t seen like that before. Amazing colours.

     
  16. Wren

    April 16, 2010 at 12:12 am

    Beautiful skies, Ewok. My husband has the same problem as yours – he insists on watching the road when he’s driving, no matter how interesting the sky or how great the birds. These are great photos! I was going to suggest you ask Dewdrop, ’cause she knows EVERYTHING about clouds, but darn if she didn’t beat me here. 🙂

     
  17. J Bar

    April 16, 2010 at 12:45 am

    good sky shots

     
  18. yogi

    April 16, 2010 at 1:24 am

    Your husband’s loss. I don’t know what it is but it is cool.
    I’ve also gone totally ocd on skyshots. Its like I never really looked at the sky before.

     
  19. Fishing Guy

    April 16, 2010 at 1:46 am

    Ewok: I knew that Dewdrop would know the answer to a sky phenomena. It was really a nice capture.

     
  20. Kcalpesh

    April 16, 2010 at 4:00 am

    Loved all the photos especially the first one is an amazing composition!

     
  21. magiceye

    April 16, 2010 at 4:02 am

    such pretty images! wow!!

     
  22. Ebie

    April 16, 2010 at 5:09 am

    The colors look like a glass prism reflecting on the clouds. Nice capture!

     
  23. Vernz

    April 16, 2010 at 5:54 am

    I love the first photo seems like it’s a road leading to a mysterious beyond…. great shot!

    The Bleeding Sky
    Garden in the sky
    GT: My most expensive soup

     
  24. Riet

    April 16, 2010 at 6:10 am

    Beautiful sky pictures.

     
  25. ladyfi

    April 16, 2010 at 6:44 am

    Love the rainbow clouds!

     
  26. luna miranda

    April 16, 2010 at 11:14 am

    aurora borealis? i remember reading about it…but i’m not sure if this is indeed, aurora borealis. aurora or not, it’s beautiful..glad you captured it.

    in the morning of Easter Sunday, a huge rainbow appeared literally in front of me–well, there were a lot of people in the pier that morning…the end of the rainbow was on water, the other end was on a mountain. it was the first time that i witnessed a rainbow close-up. and guess what, my battery was totally drained the night before. i was so mad at myself! LOL

     
  27. SandyCarlson

    April 16, 2010 at 11:40 am

    I enjoy your photos very much. I like the rainbows in the clouds. I don’t know what that’s called; I saw a lot of these rainbows when I was near the beach in North Carolina this week. Dreamy!

     
  28. owlfarmer

    April 16, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    I truly understand the sky-watching obsession. It’s becoming difficult to sit out in the yard of an evening without a camera–and I’m forever noticing what’s going on above whilst I’m supposed to be driving. This is a great sequence, too, from road to sky, and then with the cloud-bow. Save this to show your favorite physics prof!

     
  29. Grace Olsson

    April 16, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    the first one, I love it…simply wonderful.congrats

     
  30. Margy

    April 17, 2010 at 6:00 am

    Beautiful colours in the cloud. One of those things that comes along rarely I’m sure. – Margy

     
  31. Rinkly Rimes

    April 17, 2010 at 7:48 am

    Please put that first shot on the ‘Color Carnival’ blog. It is so vivid!

     
  32. Gemma

    April 17, 2010 at 9:10 am

    A phenomenal shot! really stunning! I have learnt so much since being a part of Skywatch and yes, I admit it, I am a crazy shooter of the skies too!

     
  33. 2sweetnsaxy

    April 17, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    Nice shots! What a pretty sky. I’ve missed Skywatch Fridays. 😦

     
  34. Mike

    April 17, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    Great shots! Snappy snap snap lol

     
  35. bw

    April 18, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    since you’re a sky watcher, time to get a real zoom lens !

     
  36. Linnea

    April 19, 2010 at 4:07 am

    You have a good eye to spot that rare cloud formation, but then that section of I-5 can be pretty dull so maybe it’s more enjoyable to watch the sky than the road!Great captures!

     
  37. Jill

    April 20, 2010 at 6:14 am

    lovely skies! that last picture is fascinating, how lucky you were!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
