RSS

Sky Watch #80

04 Mar

This is my 80th Skywatch post, which is amazing in itself.  But what is perplexing to me is that it took me this long to share this image for Skywatch.  I may have shown this before in my photoblog, although I am not really sure, but never on skywatch.  Why is it perplexing?  Well, this is the first skyscape image that I took where I had an epiphany.  I realized that I love to capture skyscape/cloudscapes.

I remember this image perfectly.  It was September 2, 2006.  We were running errands, it was a weekend.  We spent the rest of the afternoon inside the Fry’s Electronics store.  We love to browse there.  When we were ready to head home (accdg to time stamp it was 7:39 pm) this was what the sky looked like on our drive home. I started shooting (I think this is also where I started to drive-by shoot – because husband wouldn’t pull over). I’ve never before paid much attention to sunsets, but the sky was ablaze. I fell in love right there and then.

So I can trace back my history of skywatching when the first time I really looked at and be bowled over by skyscape was September 2, 2006 @ 7:39 pm along Highway 4 between Concord and Hercules.

Skywatch is a weekly gathering of sky lovers and sky watchers.

 
36 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2010 in sky watch

 

36 responses to “Sky Watch #80

  1. Louise

    March 4, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    This is a good one to start an addiction. It’s spectacular!

     
  2. Randi, Sweden

    March 4, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    Amazing photo – love the silhuettes of the trees against the warm colours of the sky!!

     
  3. Regina

    March 4, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    Beautiful glow!
    A Lovely one.

    Enjoy the weekend.
    Regards.

     
  4. Dewdrop

    March 4, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    I have so many experiences like that while looking at the sky. I can see why this sky captivated you. I have a friend who pointed out that the sky will never again be exactly the same as it is this second. What a striking realization that motivates me to constantly have my eyes to the sky!

    My first sky encounters were in my youth, ages 6-12 when we had thunderstorms. I lived on a beach access road in a small town facing the Atlantic just outside of Boston. Many a storm ravaged that area, causing the town to build a sea wall, install breakers out in the water and against the sea wall. Nor’easters… blizzards… For me, it was the sea breeze storms with their amazing lightning. I would stand in the front storm door and just watch it, in awe, while my brother cowered under the bed, trying to escape the “lightling”. It was good, it took the focus off of me inching my way outside during a thunderstorm. Then, in 1985, Hurricane Gloria passed through my area, stirring up wind… I was outside in the wind, letting it kiss my face as I leaned into it, all of 10 years old… flash forward a few years to 14, in Georgia, and I was watching funnel clouds drop from a cloud base before a tornado dropped and caused damage in the area. I am hooked!!!

     
  5. Gwendolyn

    March 4, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    What a beautiful picture to get things started off in the right direction. This is wonderful. I love the colors and the composition. Thanks for sharing your story.

     
  6. bw

    March 4, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    your 80th sky watch ? wow. you’ve been skygazing a lot ! 😆

     
  7. Rajesh

    March 4, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Spectacular view of the sky. Love the golden glow.

     
  8. Nonizamboni

    March 4, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    You struck gold! [sorry, that was lame] And congratulations on your 80th sky post. You’ve made our world even nicer since coming on board.

     
  9. Spiderdama

    March 4, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    Wow! This is so beautiful!

     
  10. Jill

    March 4, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    Great! love the colors here and the tree silhouettes !

     
  11. Carletta

    March 4, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    What a lovely golden sky!
    It’s been over two years since I first participated in Skywatch and I’m constantly looking at the sky. I know I noticed it before but now it’s all about capturing the moment. 🙂

     
  12. Fishing Guy

    March 4, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    Ewok: Great story and a wonderful capture to go with the photo. a golden sunset foe sure.

     
  13. syel

    March 4, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    well, who would not come to like taking photos of the sky/clouds with that beautiful glow of sunset? 😀

     
  14. Sylvia Kirkwood

    March 4, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    Everyone teases me about always having my head in the clouds — and I do, but this is one of the reasons why! Such a stunning capture and gorgeous colors. Love the trees against the sky! Magnificent! How can you not take pictures??? Have a wonderful weekend1

    Sylvia

     
  15. stine, Canada

    March 4, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    How cool that you have taken so many sky photos…and that you LOVE doing it!

     
  16. eden

    March 4, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    This is so beautiful. Love the silhouettes of the trees.
    Have a great weekend

     
  17. docgelo

    March 4, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    amazing is an understatement to describe this shot!
    what’s nicer is how you recollect the memories associated with it.
    ahhh… the fun of photography! 🙂

     
  18. Pearl Maple

    March 4, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    Great photo and all the better to hear the story behind it, amazing how we go about our busy lives and forget to enjoy this magical show the goes on above us because sometimes the view is just awesome

     
  19. Carver

    March 4, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    Happy 80th skywatch post and what a beautiful shot and narrative to go with it.

     
  20. J Bar

    March 4, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    It’s a beauty.

     
  21. Tara R.

    March 4, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    Beautiful sunset! I’ve done a few drive-bys too. Wonderful capture.

     
  22. Kim

    March 4, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    I too trace back my love to sky scape since I was young. I love sunrise and sunset and I giggled with joy when I see rainbows. What I discover since I joined Skywatch, I don’t have the same sky ever. And never that I have seen the same thing with other skywatchers, is that amazing ^_^. Thanks for the visit I do appreciate it.

    SkyWatchFriday

     
  23. Lew

    March 5, 2010 at 2:19 am

    Beautiful image! The silhouette of the trees really adds to the effect.

     
  24. Anthony Samson

    March 5, 2010 at 2:57 am

    Beautiful Capture, love the silhouette’s

     
  25. Vernz

    March 5, 2010 at 3:52 am

    frankly my dear ….. it is gorgeous …

    great shot!

    Anything Davao
    In This Side of Town

     
  26. lightbluelife

    March 5, 2010 at 4:22 am

    fantastic shot,i love this one!

     
  27. Misalyn

    March 5, 2010 at 6:16 am

    Great shot..love the hue. 80th skywatch post? sounds and looks like you are hooked! 🙂

     
  28. Ebie

    March 5, 2010 at 7:05 am

    Congratulations! Your 80th, its quite addicting! Love the silhouettes!

     
  29. Kcalpesh

    March 5, 2010 at 8:38 am

    Lovely vibrantly colored background for the tree silhouettes!!

    Pixellicious Photos

     
  30. Icy BC

    March 5, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    Wow…this is just gorgeous, and the colors are amazing!

     
  31. Judy

    March 5, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    I love the silhouettes of the leaves against the golden sky! And I love hearing the story of how you started photographing the sky!!

     
  32. Japa

    March 5, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    It’s nice you finally decided to post this beautiful skywatch photo. The silhouettes of trees (gum, on the right?) on the forefront all the more made this frame stunning.

     
  33. overtiredmum

    March 5, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    Happy 80th anniversary – or memeiversary – or skyleyversary (is there a term for 80th post on skywatch). Beautiful colours no wonder it sparked a fire xo

     
  34. Vicky, Greece

    March 6, 2010 at 5:34 am

    Really great photo!!!!

     
  35. Linnea

    March 6, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    You’ve been a devoted SKYWATCH participant for a long time! I’ve definitely been keeping my eyes on the skies much more closely since participating. We’ve been having some pretty cool skies lately what with all the storms that have been moving through. I find the summertime skies here the most uninteresting though…just too much blue. This one that you captured on that particular days sure has wonderful colors…so much orange…We’ll have to try to meet up one of these days since we live so close by. There’s a new hiking trail out here in San Ramon. Maybe when spring arrives and the paths dry out we can hook up and I can show you my favorite sights in and around San Ramon. Enjoy the week.

     
  36. clairz

    March 18, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    Isn’t that the way we all became drive-by shooters (husband won’t stop)? I thought I was the only one with that reason. I have to say that it has taught me to soak in everything with my eyes, have the camera at the ready, and not even waste shooting time with futile pleas to “stop the car!”

    This is a wonderful shot and a wonderful memory. Thank you for sharing both.

     

Leave a Reply

 
