RSS

Watery Wednesday #45:

09 Feb

A week before Chinese New Year, two years ago, I found myself in Singapore on a 12-hour layover.  Yes, 12 hours.  Thankfully, Changi Airport and I’m guessing Singapore Tourism Board/Dept has a free city tour for people with 6 hours or more of layover.  All you need to sign up is a boarding pass and off to city tour you go.

The city tour also includes a free cruise on Singapore River on boats like this.  We enjoyed the city too much that we stayed 3 days before going back home.

Watery Wednesday comes weekly.  Join us and show your water images, here.

 
21 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2010 in Watery Wednesday

 

21 responses to “Watery Wednesday #45:

  1. J Bar

    February 9, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    I remember this bridge well from my recent trip there.

     
  2. eileeninmd

    February 9, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    Looks like an awesome place to visit, I like that the river is next to the skyscrapers.

     
  3. seniorhiker

    February 9, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    I’ve always wanted to visit Singapore, but haven’t gotten there yet. The free city tour sounds like a great way to get people to spend more time in Singapore and I would take the tour if I had a layover there. If the plan is to get people to extend their stay, it obviously worked in your case. Wonderful pictures.

     
  4. kitty

    February 9, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    The old boats on the yellow river are so enchanting!

     
  5. Artlover

    February 9, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    It seems hardly healthy to swim in this water. Did you know that it´s possible to swim in Stockholm. I like your last photo best.

     
  6. Mary Howell Cromer

    February 9, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    Looks very welcoming, I like these very much. So different from the cold snow and high winds we are having~

     
  7. Hazel

    February 10, 2010 at 12:10 am

    Yellow and then the water turns a different color at a distance, guess it must be the skyscrapers. What a great idea that city tour is! I’d surely keep that in mind for later.

     
  8. Alicesg

    February 10, 2010 at 12:20 am

    It is so nice to read about Singapore in other blogs. Thanks for promoting Singapore. 🙂 I wish I could do more with putting more information about my country but I am so busy with my life over here.

     
  9. Müge

    February 10, 2010 at 12:20 am

    Very nice shots! I love the contrast between all those metallic looking high buildings and small wooden boats.

    Have a delightful day, ciao!

     
  10. Tink *~*~*

    February 10, 2010 at 1:57 am

    A city tour – what a great idea! I love that bridge.

    Tink *~*~*

     
  11. luna miranda

    February 10, 2010 at 2:41 am

    Been to a few Asian cities but I haven’t been to Singapore–i had plans of going but changed my mind. I have invitations from friends living there…i hope one of these days, I’ll be able to explore this city.

     
  12. quiltworks

    February 10, 2010 at 3:07 am

    The boat trip sounds great!! I love looking at the cities from the rivers that run through them


    …moments before sunset

     
  13. carolynUSA

    February 10, 2010 at 5:26 am

    How great is that! Something to do rather than being stuck in the airport for hours on end! And, what a beautiful city it must be…I love the boats on the river and those “very” tall buildings nearby. Gorgeous photos!

     
  14. Carletta

    February 10, 2010 at 8:15 am

    Terrific shots!
    So, you had a 12 hour delay, a free tour of the city and ended up staying three days – hmmm…their tourism board had the right idea it seems. 🙂

    A appreciate your comment on my ice photos.

     
  15. Spiderdama

    February 10, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    This looks like a really nice place! Great shots:-)

     
  16. arabesque

    February 10, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    no wonder this looks like deja vu! ^0^
    always in awe of singapore, esp. its culture and the food!
    looking at this view again, reminded me of my very recent trip, yea, now i kinda miss it and wish i could go back again…soon!.^0^

     
  17. Martha

    February 10, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    A great marketing idea for the city and more fun for the traveler than being suck in the airport.

     
  18. Mona Sweden

    February 10, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    That’s quite a contrast between the river with the old wooden boats and those spotless shining skyscrapers.

     
  19. EG Wow

    February 11, 2010 at 1:06 am

    What a great way to spend the time!

     
  20. Lew

    February 11, 2010 at 5:17 am

    What a great way to spend a long wait for the next flight! Beautiful shot of the bridge.

     
  21. Louise

    February 13, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    How cool is that! Maybe they’re hoping that free tour will make you stay for 3 days! Looks worth it tome!

     

Leave a Reply

 
