RSS

Sky Watch #76:

04 Feb

It was a hot September day all over the bay area and so we trooped to the city where the temperature is usually much cooler than anywhere else, with the exception of the coastal areas.  On this day there was a 20-degree difference in our temperature and in order to cool off we drove out to the city where I found a father teaching his daughter the basics of photography.  I thought they would make a fine subject with our hazy sky over the Golden Gate in the background.

This image has that “wish you were here moment” written all over it, don’t you agree?

Skywatch is a weekly gathering of sky lovers and sky watchers.  Please join us.

 
42 Comments

Posted by on February 4, 2010 in sky watch

 

42 responses to “Sky Watch #76:

  1. Dewdrop

    February 4, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    I totally agree! I sure wish I was there. What a charming shot demonstrating quality time between father and child. Wonderful!

     
  2. Joe Todd

    February 4, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    My skies are hazier than yours LOL

     
  3. Regina

    February 4, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    How lovely! I was just there last year and yet I wasn’t able to peek on its beauty.
    Great photo!

     
  4. Carver

    February 4, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    That’s a wonderful shot and I agree about the I wish you were here moment.

     
  5. Rajesh

    February 4, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Beautiful shot of Golden Gate against the mountain and the blue sky.

     
  6. overtiredmum

    February 4, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    Lovely shot. I’m glad I’m not there one of my kids would be over the edge (now that would be an interesting shot!) xo

     
  7. Sylvia Kirkwood

    February 4, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    Ah, marvelous capture of one of my favorite places and a gorgeous sky to set it off perfectly! Fabulous! Hope you have a great weekend!

    Sylvia

     
  8. eden

    February 4, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Beautiful shot of the Golden Gate Bridge. I love the composition too.

     
  9. Martha

    February 4, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    Great shot for a photo blog post. Maybe a new blogger in the making. I don’t think I have seen the bridge from that angle.
    We’re headed to the City tomorrow but it looks like the weather will not be good for photographs. Too bad, we don’t get into San Francisco very often and I was hoping for some good shots.

     
    • ewok1993

      February 4, 2010 at 9:18 pm

      I know it’s pretty grey out here now. Hopefully there’s a little clearing in time for your visit.

      This was taken from Land’s End, not too far from Cliff House and Sutro Baths, at the Land’s End Trail.

       
  10. Fishing Guy

    February 4, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    Ewok: Beautiful SWF at the bay bridge. BTW: That was me with the Rosterfish from our header contest.

     
  11. clairz

    February 4, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    That shot makes me miss San Francisco, where I grew up (long ago). Thank you for sharing.

     
  12. Helena

    February 4, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    That is a wonderful shot!

     
  13. syel

    February 4, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    that’s a very sweet and endearing photo!

     
  14. Ces

    February 4, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    Aaaw! What a beautiful image. That gave me goosebumps!

     
  15. Mary Howell Cromer

    February 4, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    Just beautiful. I was born on the Oakland side of that beautiful bridge~

     
  16. Anthony Samson

    February 4, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    Nice shot 🙂

    Abstract Painting

     
  17. lavoice

    February 5, 2010 at 12:46 am

    A very nice shot of the bay area. Enjoyed seeing this once again.

     
  18. Guy D

    February 5, 2010 at 1:25 am

    Wow what an excellent view, great pic.

    All the best
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

     
  19. January

    February 5, 2010 at 2:18 am

    Yes you are right sissy! That is really an excellent scene and very sweet.

    Mine is here hope you can visit too..

    Sunrise and Sun Rays

     
  20. Ebie

    February 5, 2010 at 2:22 am

    Oh the great expanse! Love the angle! How sweet of the father and daughter.

     
  21. Leora

    February 5, 2010 at 3:30 am

    It does look like a lovely scene – with the bridge and the father and daughter taking it all in together.

     
  22. Carletta

    February 5, 2010 at 4:01 am

    You captured a perfect father and daughter shot!
    And, I bet the father would love a copy of this hanging on his wall. 🙂

     
  23. ladyfi

    February 5, 2010 at 5:07 am

    Such a tender loving moment with a great backdrop! Lovely capture.

     
  24. Linnea

    February 5, 2010 at 5:49 am

    I’ve been wanting to go to this exact spot. In fact last week I was already to head out there but at the last moment something came up. Funny, we sometimes head over to the Golden Gate Bridge to escape the high, late summer temps out here in San Ramon. Love your shot…who knows, maybe she took a winning shot that day

     
  25. Spiderdama

    February 5, 2010 at 7:47 am

    What a great view! Nice shot;-)

     
  26. Gemma

    February 5, 2010 at 7:53 am

    The pale, hazy sky certainly enhances the bridge and the man and child in the foreground! Lovely photo!

     
  27. Mike

    February 5, 2010 at 10:44 am

    I definitely wish I was there yes! It’s a lovely shot.

     
  28. magiceye

    February 5, 2010 at 10:50 am

    beautifully candid shot

     
  29. Snapperoni

    February 5, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    how sweet. what a lovely photo! 😛 very candid capture of quality time.

     
  30. Vernz

    February 5, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    awww. this is so cute … technically aside … the father/daughter bonding in candid shot is just perfect … love it!

     
  31. lady macleod

    February 5, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    Lovely photograph. It brings back many memories for me as my daughter and I spent so much time in that wonderful city while she was growing up (her grandparents lived in Alameda at the time). It is one of the great walking cities of the world, and nothing is funnier than watching the poor tourists freeze in the summer!

     
    • ewok1993

      February 5, 2010 at 5:15 pm

      I totally agree with you when you say its funny to watch tourists in shorts and tees freeze in the summer time and us “locals” (am from the East Bay) are in our sweaters 🙂

       
  32. upto6only

    February 5, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    i agree with you. haven’t been doing sky watch lately. I have no more pictures with sky on it :p

    Happy weekend

     
  33. seniorhiker

    February 5, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    I definitely wish I was there!

     
  34. 2sweetnsaxy

    February 5, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Great shot. What a view!

     
  35. Tara R.

    February 6, 2010 at 12:47 am

    This is a sweet subject for SkyWatch, and the scenery is lovely.

     
  36. robert sobczak

    February 6, 2010 at 12:49 am

    Naps anywhere are the best … even better than a good nights slumber, which I find hard to brush off at times.

     
  37. Janie of Utah

    February 6, 2010 at 1:10 am

    Great shot. Not only do the bridge and sky make a great subject, but the father-daughter moment is a special addition.

     
  38. Pearl Maple

    February 7, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    What a lovely view including a parent teaching the love of photos is a real bonus. Happy Sky Watch Friday.

     
  39. Louise Cannon

    February 8, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    Yes, a fine subject,and definitely a well-done photo!

     
  40. Bern

    February 8, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    I have been to this beautiful spot before. I used to live in Alameda where I grew up as a child. I still visit my parents every year, and I often walk the San Francisco shore and cliff lines.

     

Leave a Reply

 
