RSS

My World #57: Birdfeeder

25 Jan

When we bought our house last year, our family and friends were very happy for us.  We knew people like to give new homeowners “stuff” to fill their new homes.  However, the move was still fresh in our minds when we had our housewarming party so we politely requested every body who came to the party not to bring anything for the house.  We had accumulated tons of stuff that even though we were moving to a bigger space, we don’t have anymore room for a second toaster or another wok.  Majority of our family and friends heeded our requests.  One friend sidestepped our “rule” by giving us a bird feeder and a bag of bird seed; not for the house she said but for the backyard.  And I am so glad that she did.

Who would have thought that a simple bird feeder would be such a perfect housewarming gift? Not I.  I wouldn’t even pencil it on my top 10 housewarming gifts.  But the moments of enjoyment we get from watching all the birds come and visit us three times a day are priceless.  I have regulars like this pink breasted bird.    Please help me identify.  I am starting to enjoy bird watching without leaving my sink to wash dishes.  What a lovely, thoughtful present.

For a change, I am not pulling something from the archives. My thoughtful husband snapped these two shots for me while I ran some errands with my mom after church today.  Again, please help me identify this bird.  Thanks.

MY WORLD is a weekly meme showcasing other people’s world.  Join us.

 
24 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2010 in My World

 

24 responses to “My World #57: Birdfeeder

  1. Rajesh

    January 25, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    Beautiful snaps. It is definitely nice and unique gift for the occasion.

     
  2. Barker

    January 25, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Garden birds to me make a garden and definitely a home.

     
  3. Sylvia Kirkwood

    January 25, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    What a delightful gift! And what pleasure they do bring and you’ve captured that pleasure perfectly! Love your photos! Have a great bird-watching week!

    Sylvia

     
  4. Rob Inukshuk

    January 25, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    Yes, a great gift that rewards all the time. Your friend did a good thing.
    I think that may be a Red Finch.

     
  5. Yogi

    January 25, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    That is cool. Inspires me to get our feeder going again.

     
  6. Martha

    January 25, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    Bird feeders are such fun. I would guess a house finch but the id is tricky as there are several that are similar. Check here and see what you think. http://www.birds.cornell.edu/pfw/AboutBirdsandFeeding/finchIDtable.html

    The way the weather has been, this may be a good year to visit Joshua Tree and other desert locations. This is a good place to find up-to-the minute info as to what is blooming where.
    http://www.desertusa.com/wildflo/ca.html

     
  7. Fishing Guy

    January 25, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    PC: That was a nice gift. It looks like you have Purple Finches in your world.

     
  8. Eve

    January 26, 2010 at 12:25 am

    What a great gift! I have so much fun watching the little guests that visit ours!

     
  9. noel

    January 26, 2010 at 12:36 am

    garden pics and birds are always nice to see in my viewpoint especially wnen the birds are hungry this time of the year.

     
  10. Carver

    January 26, 2010 at 12:39 am

    What a perfect gift for someone who has moved into a new home. I know the birds appreciated it too.

     
  11. bw

    January 26, 2010 at 12:42 am

    nice gift … now can do bird watching and take photos 🙂

     
  12. Indrani

    January 26, 2010 at 12:47 am

    That is so wonderful getting to see such pretty birds while doing the dishes. Great gift indeed.

     
  13. seniorhiker

    January 26, 2010 at 1:36 am

    I’m glad you enjoy your bird feeders. We have four around the house and very much enjoy watching all the birds that congregate to them. The bird reminds me of a house finch — at least that’s what we call them in Tennessee.

     
  14. Ebie

    January 26, 2010 at 2:26 am

    What a great gift! The early morning chirps is music to my ear. Enjoy!

     
  15. Wren

    January 26, 2010 at 2:43 am

    Excellent house warming gift! Watching birds at the feeder was what first got me interested in nature, habitat, bird watching, and all the other fun things I love.

    I agree with those that say your bird is a house finch. You’ll find it easy to recognize the regular visitors in very little time.

     
  16. Alicesg

    January 26, 2010 at 3:00 am

    Oh it is so nice to be so close to nature in your backyard. Thanks for the info. on my blog today. Have a nice day. 🙂

     
  17. Vicky

    January 26, 2010 at 6:58 am

    Great idea, nice photos, thanks for sharing!!!!

     
  18. Regina

    January 26, 2010 at 8:49 am

    So cute and a pretty birds.
    Love the familiar scene in my window.
    I don’t have a feeder yet.
    Nice idea. Thanks for sharing..
    Have a great week.

     
  19. JennJilks

    January 26, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    I’d go with the finch family! Scarlett tanager comes to mind, but as someone else said, you just have to look for the different signs: colours, size, etc.! Lots of fun.

    We’re having a blizzard in My Muskoka , on top of a major melt yesterday.

     
  20. Marites

    January 26, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    what a nice present! I would like to have one 🙂 looks like it’ll be such fun to have that outside. Am sorry, I don’t know that red-breasted bird but he/she sure is beautiful and busy with your feeder:)

     
  21. carolynUSA

    January 26, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    I think I am going to go buy a bird feeder right now! I definitely need one of those! Beautiful story, photos and post!

     
  22. Louise

    January 27, 2010 at 2:41 am

    That’s a wonderful gift. Sometimes the ones we don’t think about are the best. I love watching birds, but I didn’t get there on my own at all.

     
  23. Margy

    January 27, 2010 at 7:38 am

    Your bird feeder was a great gift. I am sure it brings lots of joy as you watch and photograph all the birds. I would love to have a bird feeder, but we worry that the birds would become dependent on it and we have to be away from home several times during the winter.

     
  24. bluebird09

    April 29, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    Now look at the bird feeder at the beginning of this article.I have the same.About a year ago I have a severe problem with squirrels,eight in all,they came like an army.kept eating my sun flower seeds. So what I did was to empty the seed and in place used suet cakes,that was more difficult for them to eat,and more effort,they have since moved along,with the net result I now have a wonderful family of red-headed woodpeckers who have been with me since 8-09,all winter long in the bitter cold and snow they came. I have to buy more suet,often thought of placing them on my tax returns.

     

Leave a Reply

 
