RSS

My World #56: Road Shots

18 Jan

The past decade I have discovered the joys of road tripping.  I have found comfort in the passenger seat’s view of the world that’s passing me by at 65 mph.  I get a natural high indulging in my passion for drive by shooting.  And while on the passenger seat I have found two favorite subjects: road  and sky.  I’m sharing two of my many road shots via drive-by shooting.

O public road, I say back I am not afraid to leave you, yet I love you, you express me better than I can express myself. ~ Walt Whiltman

Life is one big road with lots of signs. So when you riding through the ruts, don’t complicate your mind. Flee from hate, mischief and jealousy. Don’t bury your thoughts, put your vision to reality. Wake Up and Live!  ~ Bob Marley

MY WORLD is a weekly showcase of players’s world. Please visit.

 
24 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2010 in My World

 

24 responses to “My World #56: Road Shots

  1. J Bar

    January 18, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    Interesting road shots.

     
  2. Barker

    January 18, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    You could swallow my island up in that image. Vast and beautiful.

     
  3. Eve

    January 18, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    I love to travel, by car, plane, train – doesn’t matter, so I can certainly understand your passion! 🙂

     
  4. Sylvia Kirkwood

    January 18, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    Marvelous captures! I love to travel, too. I’m not fond of air travel any more, but I do love cars and trains! So, yes, I too can understand your passion! These are terrific road shots! Hope you have a lovely week!

    Sylvia

     
  5. Rob Inukshuk

    January 18, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    Me too, me too! I love road trips and am a huge fan of drive by photography and am enjoying your offerings today.

     
  6. Martha

    January 18, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    I haven’t tried shooting from the passanger seat, maybe I should. Hubby seems to want to go from point A to point B with no stopping to view the scenery.

     
  7. Samson

    January 19, 2010 at 12:01 am

    Lovely shot’s

    St Philomena’s Church

     
  8. Carver

    January 19, 2010 at 2:24 am

    These are so appealing to me. Heading towards a moutain range is joy.

     
  9. Rajesh

    January 19, 2010 at 3:12 am

    Very nice shots.

     
  10. seniorhiker

    January 19, 2010 at 4:27 am

    I hope you’ll show more of your drive-by shooting. These pictures certainly show wide open spaces.

     
    • ewok1993

      January 19, 2010 at 7:11 pm

      Thanks for you kind words. I do have plenty, and I’m glad I’m not the only one who loves road shots.

       
  11. Ebie

    January 19, 2010 at 7:28 am

    Very cool shots! We can never have shots are clear as yours, there are always spots on our windshield.

     
    • ewok1993

      January 19, 2010 at 7:09 pm

      I make sure that the windshield is clear and clean before we set out on a road trip and on each gas stop, the hubster has to wash it.

       
  12. Wolynski

    January 19, 2010 at 7:49 am

    Love the gray road with the gray sky – absolutely lovely.

     
    • ewok1993

      January 19, 2010 at 7:08 pm

      This is just outside Vegas, Wolynski, so it must look very familiar to you. I agree the landscape there is lovely.

       
  13. bertN

    January 19, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    Road tripping is one of my preferred way to travel. It takes a lot longer to go from point A to point B (compared to flying) but it is more rewarding visually.

     
    • ewok1993

      January 19, 2010 at 7:10 pm

      I agree with you completely. If I could only take the train to the Philippines – no matter how long it takes – I would 🙂 Imagine the sights you’ll see on the way.

       
  14. Lawstude

    January 19, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    these are awesome road shots. the sky perfectly complements the road.

     
  15. maryt/theteach

    January 19, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    Road pics are priceless, ewok! If you visit my “My World” post you’ll see another road quite different from your roads… 🙂

     
  16. Erin

    January 19, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    i too, like to shoot while hubby is zooming along. he actually drives a little slower than i do so…that helps me in my endeavors.
    nice road and sky captures.

     
    • ewok1993

      January 19, 2010 at 9:18 pm

      my husband is the opposite. he can be a pain sometimes. he gives me the 5-second rule. he says i only get 5 seconds to get my subject in focus and snap the pix all at above 65 mph. he never likes to drive below the speed limit 🙂 that’s why it’s amazing how some of my drive by really turns out great sooc.

       
  17. Fishing Guy

    January 19, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    Ewok: Your road shots are beautiful.

     
  18. Alicesg

    January 20, 2010 at 12:44 am

    Very nice photo of the long road ahead.

     
  19. bw

    January 20, 2010 at 2:06 am

    looks like a Nevada scene.. the long and winding road 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
