RSS

My World #55:

11 Jan

California is home to the giant sequioa trees.  Their sheer size leaves one breathless with amazement.  They are beautiful and majestic.  And they have a very long long life span.  But what happens to a fallen giant?  It becomes a visitor stop.  Here are some of the photos from our visit to one of my fave parks, Sequioa NP from 2007.  I am hoping that it’s still there when I visit the next time.  I can’t believe I haven’t return sooner, but will remedy that this year.

Here’s the entrance to the fallen tree, entry via the root.

At the belly of the tree.  This tree looks like it’s been felled by fire as one side is gone.

Here’s a look at the entry from the belly of the tree.

MY WORLD is a weekly meme featuring posts from all over the world.

 
28 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2010 in My World

 

28 responses to “My World #55:

  1. geri

    January 11, 2010 at 6:06 am

    this is a very photo. that is an awesome tree!

     
  2. geri

    January 11, 2010 at 6:06 am

    the missing word is “interesting” 🙂

     
  3. seniorhiker

    January 11, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    Absolutely amazing! The size of those trees is mind-boggling. I hope we get out there some day soon.

     
  4. Jossie

    January 11, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    Very impressive. Hard to immagine that it is a tree.

     
  5. Rob Inukshuk

    January 11, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    What great pics to show just how huge the Sequioa really is. Amazing giants.

     
  6. Sylvia Kirkwood

    January 11, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    I never cease to be amazed by the size of these trees! How fantastic to walk among them! Love your photos, they really capture the sense of just how big they are! Hope you get back to visit soon!!! Have a great week!

    Sylvia

     
  7. Carver

    January 11, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    Those are unbelievable trees and fantastic shots!

     
  8. J Bar

    January 11, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    Interesting.

     
  9. Eileen

    January 11, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    Great photos and I loved Sequioa national park. The trees were just awesome.

     
  10. stine, Canada

    January 11, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    They sure are huge trees!

    By the way, YES, Ontario has a wine region. I’ll post about that soe day. 😉

     
  11. Pacey

    January 11, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    Wow, that’s quite unique. That last photo is the kicker, I liked it much. 🙂

     
  12. SusieOfArabia

    January 11, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    Goodness – these pics are amazing!!! I haven’t been there since I was a teen – I’d really like to visit there again now!

     
  13. Bonnie Bonsai

    January 12, 2010 at 12:28 am

    That’s amazing! How one can truly benefit out from the imagination of another. At least it fell in the right place and not posing a road hazard. I would appreciate the same like you did if I was there. Probably in my case, I would chainsaw cut the trunk into a desired size and make a nice garden out of it.

     
  14. Martha

    January 12, 2010 at 12:37 am

    I haven’t spent much time in Sequoia. My family would pass through, visit a grove and head on down into Kings Canyon to camp in the Cedar Grove campgrounds.
    That funnel cake sure looks yummy but I think your right about the calories. Hubby would say it looks like a bannana split and make it all gone.

     
  15. Indrani

    January 12, 2010 at 12:45 am

    That is a fallen tree! (@_@)
    AMAZING!

     
  16. Fishing Guy

    January 12, 2010 at 12:57 am

    Ewok: I have never seen one in real life, I should add that to my bucket list.

     
  17. Erin

    January 12, 2010 at 2:03 am

    i remember visiting this sequoia…a long time ago 🙂
    just one of the many, many fun things to do in california.
    boy do i miss it!
    it’s cold here and boy do i miss california (oh I said that already)…
    have a fab week.

     
  18. January

    January 12, 2010 at 2:11 am

    gigantic indeed! and it looks like a cave..

    thanks for sharing..

    mine is here.. Bohol Church

     
  19. Trish (me and my puppies)

    January 12, 2010 at 2:33 am

    I have not made it to the other side of the great country, but have always wanted to see these trees in person. BTW could you send some the funnel cake this way! I’ll have mine with a cuppa tea ~ Thanks!

     
  20. Lew

    January 12, 2010 at 3:02 am

    Great shots! California does do things on a grand scale!

     
  21. Janie of Utah

    January 12, 2010 at 3:38 am

    Wow, those are great shots that really show the huge size of the tree.

     
  22. magiceye

    January 12, 2010 at 3:56 am

    fascinating!!

     
  23. Ebie

    January 12, 2010 at 5:22 am

    Truly amazing, these giant trees. We missed this part of our long trip last Spring. Hopefully we can include this when we go back to the Eastern Sierra this year.

     
  24. Wolynski

    January 12, 2010 at 8:22 am

    Wow, that’s some tree – amazing.

    Are these gigantic trees only found in California? How long does it take to grow this big? Are new ones growing?

    Lovely photos.

     
  25. carolynUSA

    January 12, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    I have been wanting to re-visit Sequoia NP. Now I am truly motivated to do just that! These are great captures of magnificent trees!

     
  26. NatureFootstep

    January 12, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    that was a big tree. I have seen some of them, but not this one.

     
  27. SandyCarlson

    January 13, 2010 at 1:58 am

    My goodness; that is utterly amazing. I would love to experience those trees in person. Thanks for bringing me there.

     
  28. upto6only

    January 14, 2010 at 2:50 am

    wow never seen that kind of tree and made into something. imagine people can go inside its trunk.

     

Leave a Reply

 
