RSS

my world #32: my bazaar experience

22 Jun

In January 2008, I traveled for the first time outside of the United States to a destination that is not my country of origin. I went to Bangladesh.  While the reason for travel was funeral, there was a time for shopping a day or so before leaving.

The people were warm and friendly and treated me like I was a long lost relative.  Hence when it was time to go I urged my husband to find time to shop for these people.  I found out that sari (or saree) is an acceptable gift.  So to Mouchouk Market we went.  Mouchouk is a Bangladeshi term for beehive.  And you know that this market is appropriately named. 

My sister-in-law came with us with her husband.  We needed two men to carry our purchases (LOL).  For someone who has not enjoyed the art or sport of shopping in an AC mall, my spirit was jumping for joy for all the sensory stimus assaulting me all at once.  Shouts in tongue I don’t understand but I knew were meant to get my attention to stop and look at their fabrics, hot and humid weather, smells I have not experienced before.

My SIL told me to be quiet and not show any facial expressions in a positive nature.  She wants me to stop saying, “Oh that’s very nice.”  She said everytime I speak in English (I can’t speak their native tongue) the price goes up.  And I should not show delight, always try to show dislike.  She said that’s the way to get the price lower, even lower to the price we wanted to pay. 

I let her do the talking and I just nod and nod.  We did manage to buy presents for people I met there on my short stay and for people waiting for me back home in California.

That is my world for today. I thought it’s a good time to reminisce.  Visit MY WORLD for stories and photos of different worlds.

 
37 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2009 in My World

 

37 responses to “my world #32: my bazaar experience

  1. SandyCarlson

    June 22, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    Those fabrics are very beautiful.

     
  2. Erin

    June 22, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    gorgeous fabrics… and your commentary was enjoyable and made me smile.
    have a lovely evening.

     
  3. Guy D

    June 22, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    Excellent photos, I love all the vibrant colors.

    Have a great week
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

     
  4. nadia

    June 22, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    “She said everytime I speak in English (I can’t speak their native tongue) the price goes up. And I should not show delight, always try to show dislike…” LOL – just like in India and Pakistan!

    I bought 2 very gorgeous sarees during my recent trip to India. What did you buy for yourself?

    PS: Your pictures are so beautiful!

     
    • ewok1993

      June 22, 2009 at 8:02 pm

      I got me shawl (which they pronounce as shall). I was given enough saris for a lifetime 🙂

       
  5. Sylvia Kirkwood

    June 22, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    Oh, you did indeed make me smile today! And what fun! Terrific shots, marvelous colors! I love them all!

     
  6. babooshka

    June 22, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    The colours of the fabrics are so vibrant and enticing. Beautiful.

     
  7. maryt/theteach

    June 22, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    Oh ewok, I wouldn’t do very well there because I would be saying, like you, “I love it!” The colors are extraordinary! A delight to my eyes!. this is when I wish I wore saris or sarees… so beautiful! 🙂

     
    • ewok1993

      June 23, 2009 at 1:44 am

      I too wanted to be wearing saris, but with very little practice I cannot maneuver walking without showing some skin 🙂

       
  8. island rambles

    June 22, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    I love the photos of the sari fabric–I want to go there and buy some now…I love seeing the photos in the My World as each one is so different

     
  9. Carver

    June 22, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    The fabrics are so vibrant and beautiful. Great post and shots.

    Thanks for visiting mine and the rabbits are wild. It’s amazing how many there are in my garden and fortunately they seem to like my weeds so they don’t disturb my garden too much. They just eat the huge amount of weeds I supply, ha.

     
  10. Pacey

    June 22, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    Ah, i love the exquisite beadworks shown on the sarees on the last shot. And so time to reminisce too about that shampoo, heheh…

     
  11. marcia

    June 23, 2009 at 1:02 am

    that was so colorful and the fabric soooo nice I love the artistry

     
  12. Alicesg

    June 23, 2009 at 1:04 am

    Those sarees look so beautiful. You are right about as tourist, once we open our mouth the prices go up…lol. And it is so difficult to bargain especially if we dont speak their languages.

     
    • ewok1993

      June 23, 2009 at 1:43 am

      local storekeepers can smell a tourist a mile away, so it really pays to shop with a local and let them do all the bargaining.

       
  13. Ebie

    June 23, 2009 at 1:19 am

    I love their materials, so soft and full of vibrant colors. I wore one sari in one of the Mardi Gras Celebration while in College.

     
  14. Pam

    June 23, 2009 at 2:02 am

    The colors of the fabrics there are so bright and colorful. They would make a terrific rainbow.

     
  15. Fishing Guy

    June 23, 2009 at 2:44 am

    Ewok: What colorful fabric from a far away world.
    BTW: No fish but that isn’t what it was about.

     
  16. chrome3d

    June 23, 2009 at 3:57 am

    That was a fun and truly colourful story.

    I never understand that the price can vary so much. I´m used to go to shop and pay what´s there on the pricetag.

     
  17. Janie of Utah

    June 23, 2009 at 4:44 am

    The fabrics are beautiful. Interesting how you had to learn the art of bargaining for goods there.

     
  18. Barb

    June 23, 2009 at 4:45 am

    The photos are so vibrant with color! It sounds as though you had to completely go against your instincts to shop there. Glad you had your sister to teach you!

     
  19. magiceye

    June 23, 2009 at 8:11 am

    lol! must have been a fun experience!

     
  20. Wolynski

    June 23, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Wow, stunning fabrics and gorgeously photographed. You could hang these fabrics on the wall as decoration.

     
    • ewok1993

      June 23, 2009 at 5:32 pm

      Definitely, especially their blankets. I bought two which I would use as a wall hanging decor.

       
  21. Wren

    June 23, 2009 at 11:07 am

    You paint a great picture of the market. It reminds me of some local ones I’ve visited in the middle east – it’s near sensory overload, but so much fun. A nice change from our sterile, prix fixe shopping malls, though I have to admit I wouldn’t find it such fun when not on vacation and just trying to make a necessary purchase and get back home.

     
  22. Luiz Ramos

    June 23, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Beautiful saris. Great your Bangladesh World

     
  23. rose

    June 23, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Thanks for sharing some interesting facts about Bangladesh!

     
  24. Bonnie Bonsai

    June 23, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    That’s it! Now, you will understand the cultural barrier of how we do things differently from one another. Follow the advice. 🙂 Else, you’ll go broke quickly there. But I love those silks.

     
  25. bw

    June 23, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    It’s always a great experience to go to these bazaars with real authetic stuff ! LOL on the frowning face strategy to get a bargain hehe 🙂

     
  26. Louise Cannon

    June 23, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    Those fabrics are so beautiful; they BEG to be touched! (And purchased!)

     
  27. Karen

    June 23, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    Those fabrics are absoloutely gorgeous !!

    I’d find it really hard to keep a straight face and not show signs of delight …. 🙂

     
  28. Leanne

    June 23, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    Fantastic colours so bright and fresh.

     
  29. Tranquility

    June 24, 2009 at 12:13 am

    This is such a perfect ‘summer’ photo. Makes me want to throw on a swimming suit, grab a fishing pole and join them at the river!

     
  30. Tranquility

    June 24, 2009 at 12:15 am

    Oops – sorry… that first comment was supposed to be for your Watery Wednesday photo.

    I love your ‘My World’ post too. Those vibrant colors are so beautiful!

     
  31. Arija

    June 24, 2009 at 1:15 am

    It is always more rewarding to give presents rather than receive. That is why I like your post so much. In places where the people are poor I personally may drive them down to the lowerst price, but then give them a little more or when I buy from someone who actually makes the goods, I pay what it is worth to me, not what I can drive them down to because they are desperate for money however little.
    Lovely colourful post.

     
  32. Jennifer

    June 24, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Simply lovely fabrics (and that’s coming from someone who normally always wears black) – I would have a hard time not showing how much I like them!

     
  33. 2sweetnsaxy

    June 24, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    Those are such beautiful fabrics! I sew. I would have loved to buy some of those fabrics.

     

Leave a Reply

 
