RSS

TWTW #3

04 Jun

This way Thursway time again.  This week I am featuring Dhaka Christian Cemetery, located in old Dhaka in the South Asian country of Bangladesh.  The country which used to be a part of India was colonized by the British and in the middle of the city chaos lies this quiet, peaceful place, a cemetery serving as the final resting place for British colonizers.  Bangladesh is predominantly a Muslim country, but a trickle of its population is Christian.  My MIL’s grave is here, that’s why I discovered this.  I’ve been searching for other information about this online but I couldn’t.  Plus fellow flickr users from Bangladesh have not featured this.  My guess is that they are Muslim and this is a Christian cemetery, they wouldn’t really need to come here.  The gate is always close btw.

 

 This is a sample of the tombs I found.  Very interesting and fascinating architecture.  I found tombs dating back from the 1700.  I have blogged about this in my photo blog, here it is if you’re interested. 

This way thurs way comes to you every Thursday.  If you have a sign, signage, road, etc you want to share, join us.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 4, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

8 responses to “TWTW #3

  1. Pacey

    June 4, 2009 at 10:52 am

    Wow, it is an interesting post and I find it so weird though that there are timings for the burials, which doesn’t happen here in PI, right? And the tombs are just well structured, very interesting too. Thanks for joining again.

     
  2. Z'riz

    June 4, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    this IS an interesting post! I also love the ancient tombs! 1700s?! wow! absolutely lovely!

    I see a lot of really interesting tombs in Chinese Cemeteries… not Christian ones 😀

    Check out my This Way ThursWay HERE

     
  3. Ebie

    June 5, 2009 at 12:37 am

    There is a bit of history on your post. When you said the gate is always close, is the cemetery already full, or it is just close to the public? I like the architecture of the tomb. Your shots are well done. That you for this information.

     
  4. Rosidah Abidin

    June 5, 2009 at 5:13 am

    Interesting! I find classic architecture always fascinating.

     
  5. seniorhiker

    June 6, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Thanks for a very interesting post and a fascinating picture of the tomb in the cemetery. The sign was full of neat information.

     
  6. babooshka

    June 8, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    Interesting post with many questions to answer. The tomb is a compelling image.

     
  7. 2sweetnsaxy

    June 9, 2009 at 12:42 am

    What an interesting place and I love the photo of that really interesting structure. It’s so old and dated. I love it!

     
  8. Arija

    June 9, 2009 at 9:07 am

    We used to pick apples in the hills orchard as well as cherries and raspberries. It is fun when you pick enough for yourself but when you are picking by the case as piecework it is tedious, a lot of ladder climbing and stretching. I did it one year as a team with my daughter who wanted to earn some pocket money. It was fun to do it for the company but not the reward.
    Lovely cherry pictures!

     

Leave a Reply

 
