RSS

my world #29: memorial day travels

25 May

Memorial Day is the unofficial start of the summer around these parts. And in the past it has been our favorite travel time. We started going out around the Memorial Day weekend in 2005 with a road trip to Williams, Arizona (gateway of the Grand Canyon) where we drove for 11 hours from the Bay Area to Las Vegas where we stopped for lunch before driving another 4 hours to reach our destination.

Aerial  view of the Grand Canyon and Colorado River

In 2006, we embarked on a Memorial Day weekend road trip to neighboring Oregon with stops at Crater Lake NP, Ashland, Salem, Eugene, Portland, and  Multnomah Falls.

Multnomah Falls

The first half of 2007 was especially busy workwise for both hubs and I. We were logging a lot of hours in the office. So, we needed something relaxing for a vacation, not a road trip. Enter a cruise to Alaska with stops at Ketchikan, Juneau, and Skagway. It was one experience I will never ever forget.

Cruising Tracy Arm Fjord

Back to road trip in 2008 with the long awaited drive to explore the scenic Highway 395, Eastern Sierra, where we stopped and explored Reno, Carson City, Viriginia City (all in Nevada), Mammoth Lakes, Mono Lake, Bristlecone Pines State Park, and Yosemite (all in California).

Yosemite Falls

This year however, we are staying home. We have quite a handful in our plates, plus this year we already had two mini vacations, one in February to Vegas (with sidetrips to Grand Canyon and Valley of Fire SP), and a second in April in NYC. So this year, our  tradition of going out on Memorial Day weekend is cut short. Here’s hoping we’ll get back to road tripping next year.

As I am writing this on a Sunday night, let me tell you out here in this part of California, its cold.  It was breezy and foggy. I told my husband the weather reminded me of a Thanksgiving weekend than Memorial Day weekend.  People are walking around in jackets and are very cold. A lady at church age 81 said, well this is California and its cold in May (even summer for that matter, ask any San Fran resident).  I spent the whole afternoon snoozing, the weather was just made for that.

MY WORLD is a weekly meme that is brought to us by wonderful people headed by KLAUS.  Please go and visit and proably join us.

 
24 Comments

Posted by on May 25, 2009 in My World

 

24 responses to “my world #29: memorial day travels

  1. Ebie

    May 25, 2009 at 6:03 am

    Thats a lot of road trips, I can only do a max of 5 hour drive. Good idea, I have also posted mine just a few minutes ago. I do not know when I can put my link, because we will be out again.
    Thanks for asking.

     
  2. Ebie

    May 25, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    Hi, I’m back to tell you I was able to post my link. My battery died on me, so we came back and recharge it. As we speak it is still charging.

     
  3. Maria

    May 25, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    Great landscapes! Wonderful! Yesterday I saw a move about speed climbers at Yosemite El Capitan where two German climbers tried to break the record. The falls are so great!
    Thanks for sharing!

     
  4. Gaelyn

    May 25, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    All of these Memorial Day weekend trips are remarkable. There’s always next year, or before.

     
  5. Titania

    May 25, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    Fantastic travels and beautiful, interesting pictures and information. The first picture, I thought was a painting until I read the caption.It is absolutely tops. The colours are stunning, as you say this is the GC and CR, a wonderful birdseye view. The world is full of amazing places. PC travel might not be as exciting as the real thing but it is a good substitute to see and learn about beautiful places.
    (mine on thisandthat)

     
  6. Janie of Utah

    May 25, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    You’ve certainly seen a lot of the country, even just in the last 4 years. I’d love to try an Alaskan cruise sometime.

     
  7. Sharon S. (Canarybird)

    May 25, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    Beautiful photographs! My brother in Canada just came back from a similar trip to Arizona and California and I’m amazed at the scenery. Lovely Blog!

     
  8. Sylvia Kirkwood

    May 25, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Fantastic, gorgeous photos! I’ve been to most of these places and you have caught them to perfection! What a fabulous trip!! Thanks for sharing the beauty!

     
  9. James

    May 25, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    Love the photos. I think it was Mark Twain that said “The coldest winter I ever experienced was a summer in San Francisco” or something like that. When I lived in that area I understood what he ment.

     
  10. Guy D

    May 25, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    All are great pics but that second one is unreal. Looks like it was a fantastic vacation.

    Have a great week
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

     
  11. Arija

    May 26, 2009 at 12:15 am

    You do have some lovely vacation spots near you. For us herein South Australia driving for eleven hours to get somewhere special is a short trip.
    Great shots, love the Grand Canyon from above and all the others.

     
  12. Alicesg

    May 26, 2009 at 12:57 am

    Wow these photos are so beautiful. The waterfall is fantastic.

     
  13. Indrani

    May 26, 2009 at 1:27 am

    Wow! You travel a lot too. Lovely shots. Here it is summers and now the monsoon has set in very early.

     
  14. Barb

    May 26, 2009 at 4:05 am

    The pictures of former trips are amazing. Glad you had a good rest this cold, wet weekend – my weather was similar.

     
  15. 2sweetnsaxy

    May 26, 2009 at 5:51 am

    Wow! What amazing shots and it’s so beautiful! These look like brochure shots. Excellent!

     
  16. Lantaw

    May 26, 2009 at 5:52 am

    that 2nd photo looks like a scene from Lord of the Rings!

     
  17. Reader Wil

    May 26, 2009 at 10:24 am

    Thanks for showing these wonderful and stunning photos! I like the fjords because they remind me of Norway! Thanks for your visit.

     
  18. Pam

    May 26, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    All the photos of your wonderful journeys are beautiful. Thanks for the road trip, I enjoyed it!

     
  19. Karen

    May 26, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    Beautiful photos, they were well worth the long hours spent in th car!!

    Actually, for me, even long road trips are good, as I get to see new and interesting sights and I can always yell, ‘Stop the car, I need to get a photo of that!’ 🙂

    Memorial weekend was sunny and warm, here in Northern Nevada…

     
  20. seniorhiker

    May 26, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    You’ve had some wonderful Memorial Day trips (with great pictures to go with them). I hope next year you’ll be able to resume these trips. I hope you had a good holiday, anyway.

     
  21. Carver

    May 26, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    These are all fantastic shots. The one of the grand canyon blew me away and the waterfalls were amazing. For that matter all of your shots are so beautiful and appealing to me.

     
  22. marites

    May 27, 2009 at 6:50 am

    your photos are so amazing and stunning. thanks for sharing. My world entry is up too.

     
  23. Bonnie Bonsai

    May 27, 2009 at 9:01 am

    This is beauteous! What a beautiful world we live! You’re one blessed Soul!

     
  24. tracyarmalaska

    July 16, 2009 at 5:37 am

    Tracy Arm is by far the most scenic trip there is. On my trip I saw unbelievable calving glaciers, bears, humpback whales, killer whales, beautiful waterfalls and much more. I definitely recommend going to Tracy Arm. In fact, there is a movie on Tracy Arm called “Alaska, The Tracy Arm Experience”. The film captures the beauty of this incredible place. You can buy the film here from Film Baby:

    http://www.filmbaby.com/films/4148

    I highly recommend Tracy Arm. If you get a chance, experience it yourself. And don’t forget to buy the film too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
