RSS

My Friday Reveries

16 May

I’m feeling a bit introspective today.  It must be the fact that boredom starts to set in 2.5 hours from quitting time and I have completed my tasks.  Or it’s perhaps the year is creeping in on me.  In two weeks’ time it is Memorial Day, the unofficial start of summer in this country.  And yet around here, it seems like the fire season has begun–already the state had seen two fires, one in SB and the other smaller one in Santa Clara County.  I thought that there would be a little bit of precipitation coming our way as I spotted some heavy fog rolling in on my commute home last evening.  It was just fog and the weather is going to be hot this weekend.  We are topping in the 90s.  Anyway, a lot of people love those warmer temps. I’ll stay clear of outdoor activities then.  I just need to convince hubby to do the same, but I’m sure he’d be one to bask in the glorious warmth. 

 I was thinking of decluttering my closet.  On the floor of my closet is some junk.  I don’t know what’s there, but I know I have placed them there for a reason.  I just don’t want to investigate what’s gathering dust.  Occasionally I would run the vacuum on top of them so the surface dust is removed, but never really had the guts to see what’s there. I just don’t have time to do that.  So when I thought of all the junk that we have boxed in the garage, or in the other closets around the house I broached the topic of garage sale to the mister.  Over the years we always have been Salvation Army donors.  No, we only give away those that are useful and usable.  But I haven’t cleaned out a closet in a while so I thought garage sale is a good idea.  Hubs shot me down by saying do you think people would love to buy old VCRs?  I think we have 3 or 4 of those.  Good point. I wouldn’t want to buy one so I would guess no one else would.  I think we’ll just wait and dispose of these properly.

 Back to almost summer, I haven’t really enjoyed the spring season yet.  I think this year has been really busy in some ways. I don’t know where the first few months went, but it’s really outrageous to see all the maple trees filled with their green vibrant leaves.  The last time I noticed them was when they were bare and I thought at that time how much I loved their graceful bare limbs.  It’s really true what they say about missing something when one blinks. How long did I blink? 

With summer comes camping.  And husband is a camping aficionado. Okay aficionado is a bit of exaggeration.  But he loves to camp.  And his friends do too.  But they only camp if he organizes it.  And last year we were too busy, he had no time to fix it.  The year before that he organized a camping for the family, without the friends.  So, it’s reasonable that the friends have started to grumble. I don’t know why these people can’t organize a camping trip among themselves and had to wait for hubs to put a trip together.  This year, hubs gave in to the demands.  He is organizing one.  And has told me to put in a vacation request for a certain date so we could go camping.  Now, I loved my first camping experience.  It was more of a cabining, with the cabin equipped with modern amenities including flush toilet, shower, and AC, only three of the most important things for me. 

  But what he’s planning is tent camping, sleeping on the ground kind of camping.  Not my kind of camping.  But I have to try this kind of camping too at least once in my life.  And the location of the camp he chose is to my liking.  I pretty much would spend a lot of time snapping some photos.  I can’t wait. Yeah, now that I’m typing this I believe I am excited to go. 

And oh we’re going back for a day trip to Yosemite tomorrow with some friends.  I haven’t even posted my summer 2008 Yosemite pics here I am again going to take more shots.  Ayayay!

Enjoy the weekend every one.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on May 16, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

8 responses to “My Friday Reveries

  1. Alicesg

    May 16, 2009 at 3:00 am

    You seem to be very busy. 🙂 Hope you have a nice trip tomorrow. 🙂 I like camping when I was young but as I grew older, I prefer to be pampered…lol. Like being pampered in luxury hotels with nice view….hehehe

     
  2. Denise

    May 16, 2009 at 11:35 am

    Wonderful post and fun reading it. Enjoyed your photos. Have a great trip.

     
  3. barrycade

    May 17, 2009 at 3:29 am

    the way you talk about decluttering your closet makes me want to clean up the mess in my room, haha. tidying up has a cathartic feel to it, so i’m going to do just that in a couple more days. yeah, now now when it’s a weekend and i enjoy just bumming around.

    enjoy the camping!

    by the way, your sepia photo of mother and child brought to mind a photo i snapped from my phone of a mother and child in Makati. I’ll post it my blog as my post-mother’s day greeting haha.

     
  4. panaderos

    May 18, 2009 at 4:09 am

    I’m not into camping but I do enjoy spending a cool night inside a tent. Humidity and mosquitoes are my worst enemies though and thus, I’ve limited my vacations to hotels and resorts where I can sleep in airconditioned comfort. 😀

    Have fun!

     
  5. babooshka

    May 18, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    This was a cheeky little post. What can I say. I do love natural photography.

     
  6. Pacey

    May 18, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    Goodluck on your camping and have a nice trip to Yosemite. Enjoyed reading this one. 🙂

     
  7. 2sweetnsaxy

    May 18, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    We didn’t get much of a spring, did we? 😦 I don’t like summer and the heat so I’m not enjoying that I seemed to blink and it was gone. I’m hoping this lack of rain and early heat doesn’t create a worse fire season than we had last year but it seems to already be starting.

     
  8. bw

    May 20, 2009 at 4:23 am

    we just had our Victoria Day long weekend. Not quite summer yet and still chilly.

    I’m now thinking of renting a storage space for my junk. It’s gradually stressing me and rather than throwing things, might as well store them somewhere. Hope you have a swell time with your camping plans 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
