RSS

Sepia Scenes #6

06 May

Once upon a time (August 6, 2008 to be exact), on a clear sunny yet cool day (as is any summer day in San Fran, see man wearing jacket in August), I spotted this guy waiting for Muni (bus) not too far from where the San Fran Giants play.  I thought his stance was contemplative as he seemed to look toward the Transamerica Building in the distance.   He was wearing a hat that I vaguely remember belonging to a branch of the armed forces, I just wasn’t sure.  The colored/original version was washed out, as I snapped this inside a moving automobile (yeah 5 mph, stuck in Frisco traffic outside of AT&T park after the day game), and so I thought I would play with it and see how it turn out.  I know I could have darkened it a bit before converting it to sepia, but somehow I love how it turned out, how the sepia set the “mood”.   Any advice on photo techniques are always welcome. 

You want more sepia?  You get more sepia here.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on May 6, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

16 responses to “Sepia Scenes #6

  1. sunnymama

    May 6, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    I wonder what he is thinking about while he waits. It makes a wonderful sepia scene!

     
  2. Ralph

    May 6, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    This is a great shot in sepia. It looks like an old and dated picture which is more then offset by the Transamerica building, a modern pyramid. It looks as an aged classic picture.

     
  3. Ms Hays

    May 6, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    I think it looks great – The sepia really does set a mood!

     
  4. James

    May 6, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    Very nice shot the washed out gives it an authentic look.

     
  5. kden

    May 7, 2009 at 12:50 am

    That is a marvelous shot! I would also like to know what he is thinking about.

     
  6. Pacey

    May 7, 2009 at 2:07 am

    It’s well done! I’m not that pro in editing but for me this is one great job. I’m thinking I might post my photo for sepia too. thanks for the idea.

     
  7. Elaine Ling

    May 7, 2009 at 2:20 am

    A wonderful shot of the back of the man looking afar, I wonder what’s going through his mind.
    Thanks for the birthday wishes 🙂

     
  8. Autrice

    May 7, 2009 at 5:21 am

    This is perfect – don’t darken it!

     
  9. Bryan

    May 7, 2009 at 6:25 am

    This looks pretty good to me. The only thing is yes, some of the highlights are gone in the top area of the photo around the buildings, which makes some of them appear to blend in with the sky. However, it’s not really noticeable as the subject of the photo draws in the viewer’s eye. I don’t think there’s much you could do as you were shooting from a moving vehicle. Perhaps you could have had time to shoot a second photo with lower EV or metered on a lighter object, but it really does look great the way it is.

     
  10. Jennie/Kahshe Cottager

    May 7, 2009 at 11:56 am

    I like it how it is actually because even with the wash out, the lines are strong making it look more like a line drawing. A nice way to save a photo that might have been discarded otherwise.

     
  11. Ria

    May 7, 2009 at 11:56 am

    wow….

    enough said.

     
  12. Russ

    May 7, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    Very nice evocative photo. You sepia processing look very good on this subject.

     
  13. kaye

    May 7, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    so wistful, I love it. Stop by to see my sepia scene and window view Thanks!

     
  14. Wren

    May 7, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    Interesting effect – it’s a very modern photo, but the sepia suits it well.

     
  15. Denise

    May 8, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    Picture perfect and a great capture stuck in traffic. I always love the warmth that sepia toning gives to a photograph and your framework is lovely.

     
  16. Pam

    May 12, 2009 at 12:54 am

    The architecture is spectacular and your photos are too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
