RSS

Watery Wednesday#11: Mendenhall Glacier

05 May

Still posting cruise photos.  I have warned you about this in the previous WW post, didn’t I?  Here are some of the photos I took in Mendenhall Glacier in Juneau.  We didn’t sign up for any tour.  On our own, we took the 20-minute or so bus ride to the glacier for a whopping $6, one way.  A real deal if you’d ask me. 

We did that because my husband and I both knew that only the glacier interested us in Juneau and we wanted to spend as much time as we could in here.  We did not do any shopping here.  We were told by one of the waiters that our time in Juneau is so limited that if you squeeze in shopping, there will  not be time to see the sights.  Plus the next port of call, Skagway, is where the cheaper prices are, according to the same guy.  And our time in Skagway is far longer than Juneau.

It was a cold and rainy day when we dropped anchor in Juneau.  The glacier was a marvel to behold.  You must understand that growing up in a tropical country, a glacier and this cold temp is as foreign to me as a trip to Mars.  But I loved it.  I soaked it all up. I did not care if I would not see any other part of Juneau. This was it for me. This was Juneau, the glacier.

Wanna get wet?  WATERY WEDNESDAY is sure to whet your appetite for water images.  Go and visit.

 
29 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2009 in Watery Wednesday

 

29 responses to “Watery Wednesday#11: Mendenhall Glacier

  1. bim

    May 5, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    The blue ice islands are marvelous!

     
  2. Thumbelina

    May 5, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    Wow! I was not brought up in the tropics but I have never seen a glacier either!
    What fabulous shots.

     
  3. Mojo, NC, USA

    May 5, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    I’ve always thought it was mind blowing how blue the glacier ice is. That’s struck me about every photo I’ve ever seen from that area.

     
  4. Your EG Tour Guide

    May 5, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    I’m enjoying the shots from your cruise so keep them coming. 😉

     
  5. Pagan Sphinx

    May 5, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    The second photo is amazing. We sometimes see icy blue in northern New England but I’ve never seen that kind of blue. Great photos. I’m glad I had a chance to see these. And I’m a hot-weather kind of gal! 🙂

     
  6. Shannon - Photo Candy

    May 5, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    I just love the pretty blue color of glaciers. I would love to visit Alaska someday. Great shots.

     
  7. Guy D

    May 5, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    These shots are fantastic!

    Cheers
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

     
  8. Leora

    May 5, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    Lovely photos. What an incredible place that must be.

     
  9. Pacey

    May 5, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Beautiful glaciers and I also wish to see them.

     
  10. Will

    May 5, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    Great photos! I am jealous! What a visual wonder!

     
  11. Ebie

    May 6, 2009 at 12:48 am

    Such wonderful photos and must be a exciting experience. I see someone with an umbrella, was it raining? I’ve never been to Juneau.

     
  12. James

    May 6, 2009 at 1:30 am

    That looks so fun. It’s something I really want to do someday.
    This is my kind of watery post.

     
  13. luna miranda

    May 6, 2009 at 2:33 am

    what an amazing place! the blue ice is so beautiful…it looks like my favorite drink at Ice Monster.:D

     
  14. Alison White

    May 6, 2009 at 3:26 am

    Magnificent pictures. If it were not for folks like you I would not even have a true clear picture of what the rest of the world looks like. Thank you so much
    PEACE!!!

     
  15. Christina

    May 6, 2009 at 4:07 am

    Magnificent wiews
    sure would like to see them live

    Thanks for making comments on my blogg

    /christina

     
  16. Awang

    May 6, 2009 at 5:12 am

    Interesting post indeed.I enter a world I know very little about.I’m glad to stopped by:)

     
  17. The Right Blue

    May 6, 2009 at 5:59 am

    What a remarkable sight. You did the right thing to spend as much time as you could at the glacier. I’m sure there were many more opportunities for shopping.

     
  18. Bryan

    May 6, 2009 at 6:26 am

    That must’ve been amazing to see firsthand, but as I look at that second photo, I get a sudden craving for a blueberry slushie.

     
  19. hip chick

    May 6, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Wow! That almost makes me want to visit there. It’s so beautiful.

     
  20. Litlit

    May 6, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Lovely picutures….sure it’s very cold there.

     
  21. Darla

    May 6, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    Amazing photos! Can’t imagine seeing this in person.

     
  22. mymy

    May 6, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    i love your entry. this is my first time to see glaciers. awesome views, i bet it’s so cold there.

     
  23. mimi

    May 6, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    awesome view of mendehall glacier. wow really a breathtaking views. happy wednesday.

     
  24. Shey

    May 6, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    Lucky you! Would love to experience this too. Fabulous series of photos!
    Happy WW! 🙂

     
  25. Tricia

    May 6, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    Up close & personal views of Alaska rather than commercial shots! I love it!

     
  26. Tarolino, Finland

    May 6, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    A marvellous sight that last one. Even if I live in a cold country we don’t have such things as glaciers so I love seeing these shots. The colour of the ice is quite extraordinary in the second shot.

     
  27. Valkyrien

    May 7, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    Wow – that is absolutely fabulous shots! And that green/blue ice! Now I know why the rivers from our glaciers are more green than “ordinary” rivers!

    Thanks for visiting! Haven’t had the time to respond before now! 🙂

     
  28. bw

    May 7, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    gorgeous pic and I would say one thing is missing here – a fishing rod 🙂

     
  29. Denise

    May 8, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    I love your photos and these taken in Alaska are fantastic. Would love to take a cruise up there one day.

     

Leave a Reply

 
