RSS

My First Bite of the Big Apple

26 Apr

This is my first trip out here in NY (attending a wedding).  Am currently blogging in my hotel room (thank heavens for moderately priced accommodations with free wi-fi) and I had a full day starting with an early flight from SFO.
Anyway, here’s my impressions for the first day.  I am staying here in Queens.

  • The first time I breathe the air here, I felt at “home”.  The feel of the air, the smell of traffic, the humidity, the lay of the street—all felt home. It felt like Manila, hell even felt like Singapore.  Hubs said must it be the humidity.  Tis only in the upper 70s and I am sweating like a pig.
  • When I remarked how comfortable I was at walking the streets and smelling the traffic (I can’t really explain it), hubs asked if I wanted to move here.  I told him, if I wanted to recreate the feel of Manila, I would have just stayed in Manila.  He said that’s a good point.  He too didn’t want to move away from our adopted “home”. I never felt that way with San Franciso, even now many years later.  SF does not remind me of Manila at all.
  • Subway trains and stations are filthy.
  • People are less friendly.  Instead of telling me that the seat on the subway is dirty, a tattoed girl punch me on the arm and looked the other way.  So, is that how people tell other people the seat is filthy, no talking all body language (and I mean a punch, okay a tap with a closed fist)
  • We were taken to a place called Jackson Heights, or little Bangladesh and India.  The streets are lined with Indian fabric and clothing store and jewelry store and eateries.  I saw one store that has a sign, BANGLADESHI AND INDIAN STYLE CHINESE FOOD.  You bet I wanna taste that Indian style Chinese food.
  • While I mentioned that the subways are filthy, they are nonetheless very reliable and convenient.
  • Experienced my first Bangladeshi wedding shower and was with all strangers but I never felt out of place.

It’s time to sleep.  Long day tomorrow.  I’ll try to sneak in a little sightseeing in the day and there’s wedding at night.

Oh yeah, photos will be in my photoblog later.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2009 in personal

 

3 responses to “My First Bite of the Big Apple

  1. Alicesg

    April 27, 2009 at 1:08 am

    Hope you have a great time there. Over here the weather is crazy hot…lol. Hope to see more photos of NY. 🙂

     
  2. bw

    May 1, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    Glad you enjoyed NYC. Hope you did not get overwhelmed by it 🙂 As for the Indian -Chinese food, we got a bunch of them here in my city. The food is kinda hot but they’re fabulous. The fusion of Chinese and Indian is excellent, much like the fusion of Chinese and Malay in Singapore 🙂

     
  3. Daryl

    May 7, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    In defense of MY city, I have to say the person who punched (or tapped) you to indicate a subway seat was dirty was totally unusual … and totally weird …we are always in a hurry but we are not unhappy, just busy and smiling happens when we see people we know .. the subways and streets of Manhattan are safe, I cant vouch for any of the other boroughs …

     

Leave a Reply

 
