RSS

My World#25: Fabulous Facades

20 Apr

The first time I saw San Francisco I fell in love with the city instantly.  I especially found the many Victorian houses simply charming and delightful, so at home with the picturesque setting of the city by the bay.  Many years later I still gawk at these beautiful works of art, and I still bring my camera each time I go to the city to photograph them.  I have selected three photos to share with you today fellow players of some fabulous facades I see while doing errands in the city.

Charming little one, isn’t it?

Another North Beach standout.

Pretty Maids in a row.

MY WORLD features weekly peeks into players world.  Go check them out.

 
38 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2009 in My World

 

38 responses to “My World#25: Fabulous Facades

  1. chrome3d

    April 20, 2009 at 10:17 am

    All better than the other. I think I would live in the yellow one because it looks warm and inviting.

     
  2. Erin

    April 20, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    we were on similar wave-lengths this week. i posted a series of beautiful window shots from around italy.
    your captures are most beautiful and sooo bay area 🙂
    thanks for sharing with us. have a great afternoon.

     
  3. Trish

    April 20, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    Pretty maids and Painted Ladies,

     
  4. Maria

    April 20, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    These houses are really beautiful! I am also fond of architecture! Have a nice week ahead!

     
  5. Guy D

    April 20, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    Fantastic architecture, awesome shots.

    Have a great week!
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

     
  6. SandyCarlson

    April 20, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    These are beautiful. You captured them wonderfully. I love the shapes and the decorative work as well as the color.

     
  7. sylvia

    April 20, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    I love San Francisco! and these photos are fabulous! The colors are so beautiful and they challenge the frequently gray skies! Thanks so much for sharing these! Have a great week!

     
  8. Martha

    April 20, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Thanks for showing the “painted ladies” of San Francisco, I love seeing them when we are in San Francisco.

     
  9. babooshka

    April 20, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    I can see why you fell for this place. What glorious colours. Reminds me of British seaside towns that have seen better days.

     
  10. **** *********

    April 20, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    Hi, thanks for showing! These facades are really something. I could like to put up my easel behind one of those windows. So many neat details and pretty colours. Have nice day!

     
  11. Kathiesbirds

    April 20, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    I love Victorian Architecture! I love your “pretty maids all in a row!”

     
  12. Mary Elizabeth

    April 20, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    Spectacular buildings. Great shots of them.
    Thanks for visiting me.
    Have a great week.
    Mary E

     
  13. Carver

    April 20, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    Wonderful shots of those captivating San Francisco houses. I have only visited there a few times but my brother lives in San Francisco and the first time I visited, the houses high on my list of favorite things. So much character and charm.

     
  14. kayleen

    April 20, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Beautiful houses, beautiful photos. Thanks for sharing them.

     
  15. SusieOfArabia

    April 20, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    All I can say is – WOW! I have always loved San Francisco too – Lucky You to live in the area!

     
  16. Bill B.

    April 21, 2009 at 2:19 am

    Looks a lot better than when I lived there.

     
  17. Ebie

    April 21, 2009 at 2:20 am

    What a wonderful city you got, and your houses are so uniformly wonderful.

     
  18. Alicesg

    April 21, 2009 at 3:24 am

    Oh they are so pretty looking. My favourite subject too in taking photos of windows and doors. They are all so unique in their own way.

     
  19. yogi

    April 21, 2009 at 3:41 am

    I love those facades. Thanks for sharing them.

    Also thanks for visting my post and leaving a comment.

     
  20. Geogypsy

    April 21, 2009 at 4:26 am

    San Francisco is my favorite city, and I’m not really a city person. But it’s so small, quaint and clean. Love that last shot. Thank you for sharng these.

     
  21. Lew

    April 21, 2009 at 4:43 am

    Great shots of those beauties! The city is one of my favorites too. An interesting mix of hills, styles, cultures and water.

     
  22. Awang

    April 21, 2009 at 5:15 am

    It was very interesting & beautiful picture,I’ve never seen its like here in my world.
    PS: Thanks for visiting my world.

     
  23. Barb

    April 21, 2009 at 6:00 am

    I’ll be visiting San Fran soon – I love the city and its architecture. My son and his wife were there this past weekend and had great weather.

     
  24. Reader Wil

    April 21, 2009 at 7:27 am

    You are absolutely right: these houses look gorgeous! They are so beautifully decorated with so much care and love! Thanks for showing! Thanks for your visit. Have a great week!

     
  25. Antigoni

    April 21, 2009 at 8:19 am

    I love these buildings! Your photos are awesome. You pass on your love of this city to us beautifully.

     
  26. Arija

    April 21, 2009 at 10:14 am

    I too have always loved the old Victorian houses, in fact a friend of mine has just restored one. So glad I can see them here again since I can no longer travel by air and visit that wonderful city for myself.

     
  27. rosadimaggio63

    April 21, 2009 at 11:40 am

    Tutte le foto dei tuoi post sono bellissime.-
    Grazie di essere passata ne4l mio blog.-
    Buona settimana.-

     
  28. The Explorer

    April 21, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    they are charming…i like the third photo…fascinating

     
  29. mountain mama

    April 21, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    They are all good pics but love that first shot. I haven’t been to SF in a long time, but it really is a fun place to visit.

     
  30. Latane

    April 21, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Beautiful, colorful and fun to look at. Thanks for sharing

     
  31. Indrani

    April 21, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    San Fransisco is beautiful.

     
  32. Louise Cannon

    April 21, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    I can easily see why you would want to take pictures every trip!

     
  33. Brit' Gal Sarah

    April 21, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    These remind me of my first home ion England, although it was not as elaborate, just the same era. I would also love SF having seen your piccies.

     
  34. Pagan Sphinx

    April 21, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    Gorgeous photos of gorgeous San Franciscan facades! I love that city. With a step-daughter now living there for two years and another daughter moving to Santa Barbara this summer, CA is definitely in my future!

    Hello from Western Massachusetts!

     
  35. lakshmi

    April 22, 2009 at 4:53 am

    very pretty and colorful. My bro studies in Santa barbara and some of the pics he has shared are wonderful

     
  36. bettyl

    April 22, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Absolutely wonderful photos. Glad you don’t just pass them by with a yawn.

     
  37. bw

    April 22, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    fabulous looking indeed 🙂

     
  38. Glennis

    April 23, 2009 at 3:06 am

    They really are works of art. You couldn’t get anyone to build houses like that these days, and if you did mange to find someone the cost would be outrageous.

     

Leave a Reply

 
