RSS

Sepia Scenes #3

01 Apr

Ketchikan, Alaska is one of the stops/ports on our Alaskan cruise.  It is known as the Salmon Capital of the World.  Tourism plays a big role in this coastal community’s economy. 

Here is an interesting tidbit I got from Wikipedia: 

Ketchikan’s secondary post office box zip code, 99950, is the highest zip code ever assigned in the United States. Most residents use the zip code 99901.

I thought this would benefit from a sepia treatment since it was a gloomy day, grey clouds, and raining the whole time we were there.  Nope, I did not enter into this establisment. Instead I opted to go inside a coffee house for the much needed warm up that a good cup of java can give.  So I really don’t know what this place sells, fish of course, I hazard a wild guess :).  Looking back it would have been interesting if I investigated a bit and was more curious so my reporting to you fellow players is more complete.

SEPIA SCENES comes to you every week.  Join us.

 
29 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

29 responses to “Sepia Scenes #3

  1. annie

    April 1, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    This photo is terrific. I immediately noticed the clouds on the upper left of the picture. Typical of Alaska, I think. I so want to go on an Alaskan cruise. this is high on our list of things to do after I retire in another year.

     
  2. Your EG Tour Guide

    April 1, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    This works well in sepia! Yes, sepia does improve shots taken on dull days, doesn’t it?

     
  3. Robin

    April 1, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    The treatment and the old wood makes the photo look vintage at first glance.

    Someday I’d love to get to Alaska…

     
  4. Tricia

    April 1, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    Great sepia shading & great shot as well!

     
  5. maryt/theteach

    April 1, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    Very nice shot in sepia. It looks like an orginal! Thanks for playing! Happy Sepia Scenes! 🙂

     
  6. Deb

    April 1, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    Very interesting shot, I like the name of the building painted on the front.

     
  7. ilanadavita

    April 1, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    This is a lovely and very inviting photo. It makes us feel like going inside for some salmon.

     
  8. Janie of Utah

    April 1, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    Interesting shot, and great, unusual K-word. I like the sepia tones. Seems to fit.

     
  9. Mojo, NC, USA

    April 1, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Good guess I imagine. And sepia works very well on this subject. Nice shot!

     
  10. Rosidah

    April 1, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    I love this sepia effect! The place looks so bright and inviting 🙂

     
  11. Patti V.

    April 2, 2009 at 12:06 am

    I agree with the others that this fish house looks good in sepia. Gloomy days make perfect sepia scenes, I guess!

    Thanks for visiting me. I wish my cats were magical, and they could bring me good luck 😉

     
  12. Jeri

    April 2, 2009 at 12:17 am

    Such a great shot, you have taken me to a place I will probably never see in person.

     
  13. Ralph

    April 2, 2009 at 12:23 am

    Honestly, the sepia monochrome makes this place look like 1906 or thereabouts. A simple building that appears to be filling up with modern day gold rush miners. Simple but beautiful!

     
  14. Dot

    April 2, 2009 at 12:24 am

    The fish house was a great choice for sepia. It really has an old look to it. I do wonder what was going on inside though.

     
  15. Alicesg

    April 2, 2009 at 12:53 am

    I think the photo looked good in sepia. I think I have to try to take one too.

     
  16. Denise

    April 2, 2009 at 1:54 am

    A great idea turning this into a sepia photograph. It is very atmospheric. A great shot!

     
  17. kden

    April 2, 2009 at 2:38 am

    What an awesome shot. Truly fantastic capture.

     
  18. Napaboaniya

    April 2, 2009 at 3:02 am

    An interesting place with the highest zip code.

     
  19. melli

    April 2, 2009 at 3:36 am

    WHAT a great shot! Truly, had you not told us it was recent, this shot could have come from 20 or 30 years ago easily! And if not for the clothing, could have gone back waaaaaaaay further! Very nice!

     
  20. ageorgiaangel

    April 2, 2009 at 4:28 am

    Great pic! Thanks for sharing.
    http://www.ageorgiaangel.com/blog/?p=532

     
  21. Gallery Juana

    April 2, 2009 at 6:46 am

    Beautifully done. The photos brings back the feeling of old Alaska.

     
  22. laurie

    April 2, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    That’s a great shot.

     
  23. Jennie/Kahshe Cottager

    April 2, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    This photo was definitely meant for sepia! I am glad you opted for coffee and this view!

     
  24. jewwishes

    April 2, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    How very nostalgic and beautiful in sepia. It is very classic looking.

     
  25. Louise

    April 2, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    The sepia works. And it DOES look like the kind of day to be in search of warmth!

     
  26. PJ

    April 2, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    We’re experiencing flooding all through our area and when I first saw this I thought people were wading in water. You’ve made a great choice for SS, I love the sign on the building, it’s so big.

     
  27. Sunnymama

    April 3, 2009 at 1:39 am

    Absolutely incredible picture! I love it.

     
  28. seniorhiker

    April 5, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    This is a great picture for sepia. I think you did the right thing in opting for coffee rather than fish on such an overcast day.

     
  29. bw

    April 6, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    Nice sepia shot 🙂 the place looks busy… hmm.. smoked salmon tasting going on perhaps ?

     

Leave a Reply

 
