RSS

Watery Wednesday #3: Capitola, California

25 Feb

Sunset Magazine‘s March 2009 issue has named this quaint little seaside community one of the 20 Best (Small) Towns.  Capitola-by-the Sea is 6 miles south of Santa Cruz and is a favorite day trip of ours.  We love to walk around town enjoying the wharf and looking at in the sea and the surfers.  Here are two pictures I took the day after Thanksgiving of 2008.

Fishing Pier

Getting wet

When we were there in  November, there was a lot of surfers waiting for the right timing for the Maverick contest.

Watery Wednesday’s main page is here.  Go visit.

 
21 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2009 in Watery Wednesday

 

21 responses to “Watery Wednesday #3: Capitola, California

  1. Today's Blah

    February 25, 2009 at 7:47 am

    This is a very good photo, I like that surfer trying to catch a wave…

    ewok said: Thanks. I am fascinated by surfers.

     
  2. Valkyrien

    February 25, 2009 at 10:34 am

    Great shots! Didn’t he just fall off the wave? 🙂

    ewok said: He’s just getting into the water 🙂 when I came to snap his photo.

     
  3. jewwishes

    February 25, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    The photos are lovely, and the first one is so serene and classic looking.

    ewok said: I think the place oozes serenity and relaxation.

     
  4. Linnea

    February 25, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    I know Capitola…haven’t been there in ages, though. I always get stuck in Santa Cruz. Your photos are terrific…they should be in Sunset Mag!

    ewok said: You’re too kind with your comments, thanks. I thought taking the entrance to Capitola on the way home from visiting Sta Cruz was the best decision we made. Hubs and I fell in love with this little village. Now, we go to Capitola, then if we still have time, stop by Sta Cruz 🙂

     
  5. Tammie

    February 25, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    Both of your images are wonderful! I love looking down at the surfer.
    You bring back memories of long ago.

    ewok said: the second pic turned out better than I expected.

     
  6. Mojo

    February 25, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    Oh my! These are wonderful. Our coastline looks nothing like this, so I always find it fascinating to see cliffs right up against the water.

    ewok said: I fell in love with the waves crashing against the cliffs the first time I saw it; I am curious to see your coastline though.

     
  7. Caprice

    February 25, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    I LOVE Capitola and you caught it so wonderfully! I have been blessed to go there the last two summers and always have such a grea time! Last summer I stopped on the cliffs just north of town and watched the surfers. Thanks for sharing this great shot!
    Caprice

    ewok said: I do too. It’s one of those places you immediately feel relaxed the minute you step on it. Lucky me, it’s easily reached by car.

     
  8. Denise

    February 25, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    A beautiful little town, and you took a couple of great shots to capture the atmosphere of the place.

     
  9. Leora

    February 25, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    That is wet, all right! The top one shows a beautiful sea town.

     
  10. 2sweetnsaxy

    February 25, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    Love these shots and that last one is really great. 🙂

     
  11. Raven

    February 25, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    What a lovely town looks like a great place to visit and I just love the pier – it looks so old and rustice

     
  12. Alicesg

    February 26, 2009 at 1:43 am

    Amazing photo. Lots to look at in this town. Must be fun to just stand there and watch the goings at the sea. Tried to post a comment in your other blog but wondered why I cant post.

     
  13. Napaboaniya

    February 26, 2009 at 1:45 am

    One of the best small towns.. I can see why from the pictures. It’s beautiful! 🙂

     
  14. Barbara

    February 26, 2009 at 2:42 am

    Great shot of the pier. I love the angle you use for the surfer. Smiles B

     
  15. Your EG Tour Guide

    February 26, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    I LOVE the surf, how it looks and the sound. It looks soooo beautiful.

     
  16. Carletta

    February 27, 2009 at 9:00 am

    What a great view!
    I love looking down on the surfer.
    These are really great shots.

    (Sorry I’m late visiting this week.)

     
  17. panaderos

    February 27, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    Such views by the sea are the ones that I love most about California. I must say that your area and San Diego are my two favorite places in the Golden State simply because of scenery such as this. 🙂

     
  18. seniorhiker

    February 28, 2009 at 5:09 am

    The picture of the town is beautiful. Where were you when you shot it? I also like your perspective of the surfer.

     
  19. Louise Cannon

    March 1, 2009 at 2:29 am

    If I lived close, it would be hard to keep me away from a place like this. I LOVE the ocean. And the town is so quaint. Very cool.

     
  20. susieofarabia

    March 2, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    Wow – these are both great shots! Nice job!!!

     
  21. Kilauea Poetry

    March 4, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    Terrific shots..and you caught a surfer!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
