RSS

My World 16: Mellow Yellow

02 Feb

Have I told you that both Sonoma and Napa Valleys are only about 20 miles away?  Well, both are easily accessible via Carquinez Bridge from the East Bay.  During the first three or four months of the year, both valleys are covered in yellow from the yellow mustards.  Over the years, whenever we have an afternoon free during the weekends, we would always opt to go to either one of the valleys instead of San Francisco even though they were the same distance from us.  During this time, the valley is pretty in a different way.  We would always make it a point to photograph the vineyards first then stop for coffee or grab a bite.

I haven’t been in the valleys this year.  And I know that it look like these three photos; it always has every single year.

The first two photos are taken from Sonoma Valley; the third from Napa Valley.  The third one may be a bit familiar. I used it for Sky watch before. I have posted these old photos to offer  a little bit of sunshine to those fellow players who are still deep in winter and all they see are white and white and white.  Here’s some yellow to every one.

I will find a way to get to the valleys next week for some photo shoot.  And I will share them here.

Napa Valley has an annual mustard festival in time for the mustard season.

This is my entry for this week’s My World.  For more photos and stories, check My World.

 
35 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2009 in bay area, My World, photo meme

 

Tags:

35 responses to “My World 16: Mellow Yellow

  1. bw

    February 2, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    wow… nice colors !

     
  2. Your EG Tour Guide

    February 2, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    The yellow does look inviting. 😉 Hope you can get out to see it his year.

     
  3. Geogypsy

    February 2, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    What a wonderful contrast between the grape vines against the mustard. And the latter is a great plant to replenish the soil with natural nitrogen.
    Have fun in the valley next week. Look forward to more great captures.

     
  4. Antigoni

    February 2, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Great post and photos.

     
  5. Tranquility

    February 2, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    THis is beautiful! I love that blue, blue sky against the yellow field! Ah, dreaming of Spring!

     
  6. Fishing Guy

    February 2, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Ewok: Thanks for sharing the sunshine of your world.

     
  7. Louise

    February 2, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    How beautiful! It reminds me of the canola fields in the north. I really love this post.

     
  8. Carver

    February 2, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    Beautiful yellow fields. Looks like a great place to drive around.

     
  9. imac

    February 2, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    Interesting post and love the photos, and my fav is that tree, what a wonder.

     
  10. Janie of Utah

    February 2, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    Wow, the yellow mustard makes quite a show in your beautiful valleys.
    Great shot of clouds and sky in the last photo.

     
  11. Erin

    February 2, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    i love that first shot with the grape vine against the yellow background. it is fab.
    thanks for stopping by my blog…have a great week.

    erin

     
  12. gmirage

    February 2, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    I always find yellow fields awesome to look at! Especially when surrounded with green and brown…

    You always have the most beautiful places to photograph.

    Ps: I am still schooling, tired and always sleeping late lol…plus with 2 more kids today (nephew and niece). So there, good but tired, hope you enjoy your week 😉 Warm regards!

     
  13. Skies

    February 2, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    Hey ewok..I never realized you’re a pinoy. Glad to know.

    Anyway, your photos are very magnificent, esp with the yellow tones. Thanks for sharing this part of the world.

     
  14. Guy D

    February 2, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    Beautiful shots, the Napa Valley is gorgeous. Thanks for sharing.

    Cheers!
    Regina In Pictures

     
  15. babooshka

    February 3, 2009 at 12:27 am

    Mustard festival. I have definitely never been to one of those, or seen a sight like this concerning mustard. Gorgoeus.

     
  16. Mojo

    February 3, 2009 at 1:01 am

    Who knew that wine country was also mustard country? Not me for sure! Great photos! I especially love the first one. I can almost pick animal shapes out in the vine on the fence!

     
  17. Cheryl Ann

    February 3, 2009 at 1:02 am

    So pretty! I took some photos of the mustard last spring (spring break) when we went to Paso Robles! I’ve posted some of them on my blog. Come visit! My sister-in-law lives in Napa and we get up there about once a year!
    ~~Cheryl Ann~~

     
  18. wren

    February 3, 2009 at 1:51 am

    I didn’t know that mustard was a big deal in those valleys in addition to wine. It’s very pretty.

     
  19. robert v sobczak

    February 3, 2009 at 2:07 am

    Isn’t it true that photos of vineyards get better with age? Or is that the wine? I’m perplexed here in Florida why they don’t make wine with oranges, as it is a berry.

     
  20. SandyCarlson

    February 3, 2009 at 2:36 am

    I was so caught up in the grapevines that I almost didn’t see the vibrant yellow of mustard. Go figure!

     
  21. Paul

    February 3, 2009 at 2:39 am

    wow, the vibrancy of the yellow is astounding!

    i love the grapevines too!

    great job!

     
  22. Indrani

    February 3, 2009 at 3:24 am

    Mustard… i love mustard sauce…
    Beautiful pictures Ewok!

     
  23. FickleMiinded

    February 3, 2009 at 4:05 am

    when i was in CA, my aunt used to drag me punta ng Napa Valley to shop at Flea Market.

     
  24. Brit' Gal Sarah

    February 3, 2009 at 4:27 am

    And I truly appreciate a break from all the white stuff we all seem to have, lovely shots.

     
  25. magiceye

    February 3, 2009 at 5:04 am

    a beautiful world!

     
  26. Marites

    February 3, 2009 at 7:41 am

    Very beautiful yellow field. We’ve passed by Napa Valley on our way to Vallejo but we did it on sunset. Nevertheless, it was beautiful to see. Just wish I can return and see it on a daylight.

     
  27. Swarna

    February 3, 2009 at 7:52 am

    The last pic’s colours are wonderful, and the second one’s composition is so special. Looking forward to the promised part 2!

     
  28. Reader Wil

    February 3, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful valleys with us! Have a great week!

     
  29. auringonkukka finland :)

    February 3, 2009 at 10:19 am

    so beautiful photos 🙂
    have a nice week!!

     
  30. soulbrush

    February 3, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    wow these are gorgeous!

     
  31. Lantaw

    February 4, 2009 at 1:20 am

    Beautiful flowers! I love these flower fields

     
  32. Glennis

    February 4, 2009 at 3:01 am

    The vines and the mustard plants are very pretty, I wonder why they actually grow the mustard with the grapes? We also have a huge wine industry in my district, but no mustard is grow at all. In fact nothing except is grown between the vines except for grass, though a very few farmers grow sunflowers. I would be interested in hearing more of the mustard festival.
    Very nice entry.

     
  33. chrome3d

    February 4, 2009 at 4:40 am

    A place that grows grapes and mustard must be a good place for photo opportunity. Second photo was very beautiful to me.

     
  34. Kathiesbirds

    February 4, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    What beautiful captures all. I love the contrast of the yellow ground and the blue sky and I love the twisted vine trunk!

     
  35. Sara Chapman in Seattle

    February 5, 2009 at 5:45 am

    I am SO HAPPY you stopped by my blog so I came to visit yours. I used to live in Sonoma County in Sebastopol and Santa Rosa and I miss it so much. The mustard season is my absolute favorite. Yellow everywhere! You have done a fabulous job in these photos and I thank you for posting them.

     

Leave a Reply

 
