RSS

My World #15: A windy day in the bay

26 Jan

Do you remember in November I told you about our crabbing activity in the bay?  Okay, while we were waiting for the crabs to bite so to speak, I was busy enjoying the sights of the bay.  It was windy and breezy that day and I saw how one boat almost capsize.  I followed it and took photos of it (photos 1 to 3).  Not too far from boat 1, I noticed the fourth photo where wisely it lowered the sails to avoid the same fate as that of the first boat.  I have no knowledge of nautical terms. Please bear with me and the terminologies I have used here.

My world is a weekly meme where players showcase their respective worlds every week.  To see more entries or to join, please visit the MY WORLD page.

 
30 Comments

Posted by on January 26, 2009 in My World

 

30 responses to “My World #15: A windy day in the bay

  1. seniorhiker

    January 26, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    Don’t worry about the terminology — your pictures speak for themselves.

     
  2. Klaus

    January 26, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    Cool shots! Glad I wasn’t in that boat! 🙂

    Cheers, Klaus

     
  3. Carver

    January 26, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    Great shots. I’ve been on a number of almost capsized boats and have capsized a few times on small boats. It’s not such a big deal with a small boat but fortunately have never capsized when sailing on a larger boat. That would be a problem.

     
  4. Louise

    January 26, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    Wow! I was wondering if we were going to see a boat go under. What a thing to witness.

     
  5. Your EG Tour Guide

    January 26, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    The correct vocabulary is not necessary for me. 😉 It made for a successful photo op!

     
  6. janie of Utah

    January 26, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    Wow, that boat had a close call! Great photo!

     
  7. Readerwil

    January 26, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    Great photos, but am I glad I was not in that first boat! Was the water very cold?

     
  8. imac

    January 26, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    wow, thought that someone was going to end up in the water, great captures.

     
  9. babooshka

    January 26, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    Only time I like the wind for bit if sailing round the harbour. Not when I’m rowing though.

     
  10. Ruth

    January 26, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    I don’t know much about nautical terms either, but would not be happy in that first boat. Well captured!!

     
  11. Titania

    January 26, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    Beautiful view of the bay and fun to watch the sailing boat. My daughters had a small sailing boat and I have see them many times capsize! It was a fast little thing (the boat).

     
  12. sylvia

    January 26, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    What wonderful shots! Have to admit, glad I wasn’t in the first boat either. Thanks so much for sharing! Have a great week!

     
  13. susieofarabia

    January 26, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    Wow – it really looks like it could have gone over! They’re lucky it didn’t. Nice shots.
    http://susieofarabia.wordpress.com/

     
  14. Gmirage

    January 26, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    Lol! Good thing they learned from the other…I dont know any of those terms too, my father never taught me! Great photos! I like the Friday Foto below too!

     
  15. Guy D

    January 26, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    Wow does it every look windy, those are fantastic shots.

    Cheers!
    Regina In Pictures

     
  16. wren

    January 27, 2009 at 12:30 am

    Oh, that’s scary. I was caught in a storm on a small boat once, and it wasn’t fun. I’d much rather look at your photos, which are great.

     
  17. Fishing Guy

    January 27, 2009 at 12:55 am

    Ewok: What a neat capture of the boat as it started to list. Thanks for sharing the neat capture.

     
  18. Geogypsy

    January 27, 2009 at 2:26 am

    Nice captures. Looks like the crew was on the wrong side of the boat.

     
  19. SandyCarlson

    January 27, 2009 at 3:00 am

    That’s more refreshing than they bargained for!

     
  20. mountain.mama

    January 27, 2009 at 4:32 am

    Great pix! We call those “throw up rides.” Wow.

     
  21. Indrani

    January 27, 2009 at 5:34 am

    That is why they say:A pic is worth a thousand words!
    Tense moments captured, you were quite alert.

     
  22. Brit' Gal' Sarah

    January 27, 2009 at 6:10 am

    Great shots and I love the sea, but we don’t mix due to motion sickness sadly!

     
  23. Napaboaniya

    January 27, 2009 at 9:17 am

    I wish I was in that!!! 😛

     
  24. auringonkukka finland :)

    January 27, 2009 at 11:28 am

    great photos!
    have a nice week 😉

     
  25. Alicesg

    January 27, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Very beautiful photo. I love the sailboat with such a nice weather.

     
  26. Arija

    January 27, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    Nice shots, it you look at where in the boat the peole are, they are nowhere near to capsizing, just sailing close to the wind.

     
  27. 2sweetnsaxy

    January 27, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    Great shots. What an adventure that must have been in that boat. 🙂

    In response to your question about fees to enter Santa Fe Dam, I can’t remember – maybe $7.00? It was more than I wanted to spend just to look around.

     
  28. Skies

    January 28, 2009 at 8:58 am

    You did a good shot again ewok. I love your posts. Thanks for sharing always.

     
  29. Mojo

    January 28, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    I guess that’ll teach ’em! Great photos! Glad it was them and not me though.

     
  30. bw

    January 28, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Kinda’ dangerous don’t you think ? Great shots though 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
