RSS

A recap of my 2008, last part.

03 Jan

More medic appointments and tests in the months of June, July, and August.  When not in the docs office, I was working in front of  the computer.  I was blogging a lot too.  I joined three photo memes, Skywatch, Photo Hunt, and My World.  I certainly enjoyed myself on the days these memes were on.

I took a day off on my birthday this year.  We took in a Giants day game, a stroll through the waterfront, and dinner in Clement Street.

September whizzed by all too quickly.  Still doing the treatments.  And I have a new eye doctor, a young one, looks like a fresh face, fresh grad.  I googled her because I needed her contact number and search result also included her facebook site 🙂

It was in October when I did my last blood test.  And when my husband said we’ll stop here.  NP said there’s only too much a body can take.  I was glad the treatment was over.  All connected to the treatment were fine by me, the needles, the constant clinic visits, the medications, etc.  The side effect was what I could not take.  I was tired all year.  Headaches were constant.  We’ll take another road from here on.

I experienced something new in November.  Our friends invited us to Yuba City with them to attend a Guru something festival.  It’s a Sikh festival commemorating the birthday of one of its gurus.  The drive took about 1.5 hours.  Our friends (another couple) were driving us for a change.  Okay, I don’t mind being driven, as long as my husband is behind the wheel, or any of my brothers I feel safe.  This friend, however, was driving like an Asian, that we are.  You know.  My husband said I was exaggerating.  My heart was in my throat the entire ride.

The festival was well attended by Sikhs all over the state.  We managed to get lost by going to a temple, the wrong one.  Apparently there are plenty of Sikhs in that area that they had to have two temples.  We finally found the temple, not really, as we did not enter the temple, but the festival was a short walk from a shopping center and parking was terrible.  Luckily, we had disability parking.

The walk was short, fun, and along the way, Sikhs hand out bottles of water, sodas in can.  In the street where the parade was held, different tents are on both sides of the street serving free food to every one.  I made the mistake of not wearing a shalwar kameez.  I should have grabbed that opportunity to wear one of my garbs.  I had fun, was full, and enjoyed all the pageantry and the tradition that the parade offered.

November saw my husband going crabbing crazy.  We went crabbing three weekends in a row.  On the second weekend, we went to Fort Baker pier, then later on watched the sunset by the Golden Gate Bridge, very romantic indeed.

Another friends of ours, an elderly couple, were beset with health scares this year had us for an after Thanksgiving dinner.  The husband now lives in a senior home where he can get looked after 24/7.  The wife had minor heart problems this year too and was strong enough to make a Sandra Lee recipe and wanted to share it with us.  I was glad to see the husband really doing well and had his wits about him.  There were times this year when we thought he was totally sliding uncontrollably into — I dont want to even think.  But during dinner, he was witty as ever and knew who were were, and knew his surroundings.  And that Sandra Lee can make good dinner.  I think I have to get her cookbook.  I am not really crazy about her tablescape though, me not a crafty person.

Our thanksgiving was quiet, here at home, with friends.  I missed my family.

Sometime during the year, my husband and I started scouting for houses.  With all the foreclosures we thought we could snap our first home.  We looked at house after house after house.  And we bid, got outbid.  We bid again.  Again outbid.  We bid a third time.  Still waiting for the bank to respond.  We’re giving this house until next year and if still there is no reply, we will cancel said bid and look for another house.  Hopefully, not one whose status is short sale.  Wish us luck.

I don’t do resolutions.  I did once as a theme writing project in grade school.  I can’t even remember what I promised to resolve then.  What I would like to do now is a wish list for 2009.

Here are my Nine in 2009

  1. Finish all pending projects (crocheted bedsheet, two scrapbooks, cross stitch)
  2. Get some exercise routine and keep it
  3. Healthy eating
  4. Waste  not and want not
  5. Frolick in  the snow for a weekend
  6. A camping trip in the summer time
  7. A cruise!!!!
  8. A house!!!!
  9. A more prayerful life
 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 3, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “A recap of my 2008, last part.

  1. nomly

    January 3, 2009 at 2:51 am

    its great, thanks

     
  2. Toe

    January 3, 2009 at 8:39 am

    Driving like an Asian… that’s funny. And if you’re going to a Sikh festival, the driver must also believe in reincarnation! 🙂

    Happy New Year Ewok!

    Here’s to your good health!

     
  3. seniorhiker

    January 3, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    I like your wish list for 2009. I hope you have good health in addition to all of those wishes.

     
  4. panaderos

    January 3, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    My wish is for you to get everything you wish for in 2009. I also wish you a speedy recovery. Take care always, my friend.

     

Leave a Reply

 
