RSS

My World #7: San Francisco Cable Car

01 Dec

cable-car-small

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Twas a busy week wasn’t it?  I have missed two photo memes last week because of my short break in preparation for Thanksgiving.  And honestly, I am ill prepared for this week’s My World too.  But I am digging something from the archives again.

Here’s another iconic San Fran image,  a moving National Historic Landmark, the cable car is seen here traversing California Street

My World is a photo meme headed by the same people who does Sky Watch.  Please go and visit them and you’ll find  a list of participants for a taste of other people’s world.

 
39 Comments

Posted by on December 1, 2008 in My World, personal, photo meme

 

39 responses to “My World #7: San Francisco Cable Car

  1. Your EG Tour Guide

    December 1, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    I like the old-timey flavour he sepia gives this photo. By the way, I missed a couple of memes last week too!

     
  2. Troy Mullens

    December 1, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Nice sepia photo of the cable car.

    Well done

    Troy and martha

     
  3. Arija

    December 1, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Love San Francisco’s cable cars and your sepia rendition gives it even more national monument status.

     
  4. Mojo

    December 1, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    I didn’t miss posting (mainly because my regular memes are scheduled through the end of the year) but I was a little late in linking a few of them.

    I like the monochrome treatment here. It gives a good mood to the shot. One more reason I want to visit there. I think my oldest son and I are the only ones in the family that haven’t!

     
  5. Carver

    December 1, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    San Francisco is such a beautiful city. I love this shot.

     
  6. imac

    December 1, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Beautiful Sepia photo of SF Cable Car.

     
  7. gzel

    December 1, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    Ill prepared and yet with a wonderful photo? Love the treatment! also the hilly perspective…its very different from here…

     
  8. SandyCarlson

    December 1, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    That’s a wonderful image. I would love to see that city some day.

     
  9. wren

    December 1, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    Perfect, iconic image for the city. I love riding the cable cars.

     
  10. April

    December 1, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    I enjoy your pictures of San Francisco! Neat one of the cable car and the steep hill – great perspective!

     
  11. Linda

    December 1, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    I love trams, though it makes me miss Melbourne a little.

    I have just finished a novel set in San Francisco. My husband has been there, so it helps me to read the book as his photos and explanation helped me understand the city a little.

     
  12. Sylvia Kirkwood

    December 1, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    Love the cable cars! One of my favorite things about San Francisco! And it is a terrific shot! Thanks for sharing and for stopping by my “world”.

     
  13. kbguy

    December 1, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    wow, another world full of concrete and steel.

     
  14. FickleMinded

    December 2, 2008 at 12:11 am

    that’s one thing I missed when I was in Bay Area, to ride the cable car.:)

     
  15. Fishing Guy

    December 2, 2008 at 12:20 am

    Ewok: That is an famous sight in San Francisco.

     
  16. Erin

    December 2, 2008 at 12:29 am

    one never tires of cable car shots…thanks for stopping by my blog…

     
  17. Brit' Gal Sarah

    December 2, 2008 at 1:28 am

    Love the sepia tone you gave this great piccie

     
  18. magiceye

    December 2, 2008 at 1:40 am

    love this perspective! beautiful image!!

     
  19. Lilli

    December 2, 2008 at 2:56 am

    Beautiful photo of the cable car in SF it has been yrs since i have been there, Loved to ride the cable cars.Thanks for sharing your world

     
  20. Dot

    December 2, 2008 at 3:23 am

    Beautiful in sepia! Reminds me of that Steve McQueen movie.

     
  21. Indrani

    December 2, 2008 at 3:40 am

    Nice shot of the cable car, would love to travel in it some day.

     
  22. kayleen

    December 2, 2008 at 4:01 am

    I lived in the Bay Area for 14 years. You’ll never know how many memories your photo stirred. Thanks for sharing

     
  23. 2sweetnsaxy

    December 2, 2008 at 5:40 am

    Archives or not, it’s a great shot. I’ve only been to Frisco once and never did get on their cable car. I wish now that I had, but I did take the boat around Alcatraz. 🙂

     
  24. auringonkukkaperhe finland

    December 2, 2008 at 8:04 am

    so beautiful place! 🙂

     
  25. Margy

    December 2, 2008 at 8:14 am

    The cable cars are such fun. I love to visit San Francisco. Often we fly in to Oakland and take the BART over for a day or evening of fun. I invite you to come see the Hulks, a unique aspect of my town, Powell River, BC. They are historic in their own way. – Margy

     
  26. shaker

    December 2, 2008 at 9:27 am

    A place, I’d love to visit ! Great photo.
    Thanks for sharing !

     
  27. nana

    December 2, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Magnificant sepia shot.

     
  28. Jennifer

    December 2, 2008 at 11:20 am

    I love the mood of that picture, it’s gorgeous. Happy memories for me, too.

     
  29. Sandra

    December 2, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    I’m impressed with this photograph! Thank you very much for showing us your peace of the world and thank you very much for your visit! Bye and greetings from Croatia!

     
  30. Antigoni

    December 2, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    GREAT POST!Best wishes for your health.

     
  31. Rural Writer

    December 2, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    Love the picture! It’d be so neat to ride a cable car. I hope some day I get to visit San Francisco!

     
  32. Jan

    December 2, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    Beautiful sepia photo. Every one loves SF.

     
  33. bw

    December 2, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    nice shot. The sepia makes it even better 🙂

     
  34. jean

    December 2, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Black & white suits that shot so well. Thnaks for sharing & for reading about the PA deer hunt. Have a good week.

     
  35. jean

    December 2, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Sorry for not looking closely, the sephia suits that shot so well. Thnaks for sharing & for reading about the PA deer hunt. Have a good week.

     
  36. soulbrush

    December 2, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    marvellous image, i have to get to san fran one day!!!

     
  37. thismechanican

    December 2, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    San Fran is on my list of cities to visit if I ever get to the US. (Along with NYC and San Diego – LA is not on my list!!). Great photo btw.
    http://gnometree.wordpress.com

     
  38. chrome3d

    December 3, 2008 at 4:17 am

    Thanks for sharing something from your archives. It was a great photo and worth seeing!

     
  39. Pearl Maple

    December 10, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    Fantastic photo full of interesting angles and lines.
    Thanks for sharing a peek into your view of town.

     

Leave a Reply

 
