RSS

My World 5: Crab Season

17 Nov

IMG_0114, originally uploaded by airam94564.

This weekend was the beginning of crab season here in the Bay area. For the last two weekends, I found myself crabbing. Initial reports claimed that the crabs were aplenty.

For the first weekend, on November 8, we went to Berkeley Marina. It was a cold windy day, but the pier was full of people with more people have crab nets than fishing poles. We were able to haul medium-sized stone crabs that barely clear the size restrictions. Those we cooked as Singaporean chili crabs, yummylicious.

Last Saturday, after learning that the best spot to go crabbing is by the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, off we went and found that pier you see from across the foot of the Golden Gate. People were crabbing there too and the time we arrived we saw someone pulling up her net and catching a big one, a stone crab and not a dungeness that’s the signature crab of the SF.

Both me and my crabbing companions have a tough day so far and a very tiring one too, but the minute we sat and threw our nets in the water, we found comfort in the beautiful 80-degree weather with the Golden Gate Bridge glowing in the sun. We all have been living in this area for years and years and never have we seen the bridge this way. We were all one in saying this is why the tourists keep coming here. Every light shows a different beauty to the bridge. We let our husbands deal with the nets as I just took photos. This one is not one I took from Saturday. But that’s my shadow taken November of last year.

After a seal had taken all our baits, we decided to just get closer to the bridge so we left Fort Baker pier and drove a few minutes across to the other side of the Golden Gate and enjoyed our first Golden Gate sunset.Β  We went home crabless and crabby because a seal outwitted us, but we were treated to a home-cooked Indian dinner by our crabbing companions.Β  It was a good Saturday in my world.

To see more of other people’s world and/or to join in showing your world, check out MY WORLD.

 
44 Comments

Posted by on November 17, 2008 in My World, personal, photo meme, Uncategorized

 

44 responses to “My World 5: Crab Season

  1. Yen

    November 17, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    We are also going to the north for the crab season as well;-) Nice shot!

     
  2. SaraG

    November 17, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Beautiful photo and wonderful post.
    Thanks for sharing your part of the world with us!!

     
  3. Luiz Ramos

    November 17, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    Great view and good report.

     
  4. Louise Cannon

    November 17, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    Funny post (about being crabby), and the photo is wonderful.

     
  5. Your EG Tour Guide

    November 17, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Lovely photo and I enjoyed your commentary as well. πŸ˜‰

     
  6. G_mirage

    November 17, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    I saw your shadow immediately…=D SF Bay is like the sky, there is never 2 same photos you could take of it…This one is particularly calm with the blue and very inviting too…

    Re: state opera, I plan to go in soon perhaps with the kids, I am not sure about the opera not having shows, the tickets range from 8euros to 130euros =D (a ballet performance), for the kid’s Magic flute, 10-168 euros!

     
  7. Fishing Guy

    November 17, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Ewok: What a neat shot of the bay. I really would have like to see your catch.

     
  8. Sylvia Kirkwood

    November 17, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Love the SF area, my daughter lives in Santa Rosa and when I visit her we always get over to San Francisco for some crab — to eat though, not catch! I envy you being able to do that. This a great shot and thanks for the information, too, that always makes the pictures even more interesting for me! Thanks!

     
  9. Maria

    November 17, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    Also crab fishing under Golden Gate Bridge cost me not a single EURO!
    Thank you, and you make me want to see the Golden Gate sunset and the seal stealing your bait πŸ™‚
    Thank you for sharing your nice trip!

     
  10. marcia

    November 17, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    My son just wrote me about crossing that it is a spectacular bridge

     
  11. Susan

    November 17, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    Great post to go with the photo, what fun! Thank you for sharing your day.

     
  12. Carletta

    November 17, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    Wonderful landscape! Sounds like you had a great time.

     
  13. Starnitesky

    November 17, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    Crabbing sounds like fun, great picture.

     
  14. Guy Dauphinais

    November 17, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Great photo and post, perfect for myworld. Thanks for sharing!

    Cheers!
    Regina In Pictures

     
  15. Leora

    November 17, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    A crisp photo, with lovely blues, reds and greens. Sorry about your crabby crabless day. But you showed us a great image of the bay.

     
  16. babooshka

    November 17, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    Fabulous overview and really did get a feel of your world for the text.

     
  17. jeanne

    November 18, 2008 at 12:28 am

    I love crabs. How cool to catch them yourself. I think with or without netting any it’s a beautiful spot to spend the day.

     
  18. Arija

    November 18, 2008 at 12:30 am

    And an obviously great day was had by all! Fun post and Nice pic too.

     
  19. Bernie Krausse

    November 18, 2008 at 12:35 am

    There’s something about Angel Island that always seems to be calling out to me. I have never visited it before, but your photo has inspired me to call upon it the next time I visit my parents in Alameda. Thank you.

     
  20. MAsh

    November 18, 2008 at 12:36 am

    Crabbing sounds like a blast. Great photos!

     
  21. Rural Writer

    November 18, 2008 at 1:00 am

    Nice picture. It’s certainly a lovely area. I really enjoyed your crabby commentary. πŸ˜‰

     
  22. Shannon

    November 18, 2008 at 1:30 am

    Nice perspective of the bridge and the bay. I love crab and I bet it’s a blast to go crabbing. Someday when I visit my dad in Maryland, I would like to go crabbing for blue crab in Chesapeake Bay…

     
  23. Bobbie in Hawaii

    November 18, 2008 at 1:43 am

    Very nice post. But of course now I’m hungry for crab!

     
  24. Leslie in Canada

    November 18, 2008 at 1:48 am

    Even if you didn’t get any crabs, you did have a wonderful outing in lovely weather! Have a great day but be sure to pop over to see my river. πŸ˜€

     
  25. mannanan

    November 18, 2008 at 2:13 am

    What a very ineteresting post. Thanks for sharing.

     
  26. April

    November 18, 2008 at 2:18 am

    What a beautiful place you live in! The water looks so blue, and the Golden Gate Bridge is very pretty in the sun (I like the red paint. It was fun reading about your crabbing activity.

     
  27. wren

    November 18, 2008 at 2:45 am

    Oh well, you can always buy crabs at the market, right? πŸ™‚ Sounds like a fun day, and you are so correct that you never appreciate the local scenery the way a visitor does.

     
  28. Indrani

    November 18, 2008 at 3:24 am

    Smart seal! πŸ™‚ Lovely photo.

     
  29. 2sweetnsaxy

    November 18, 2008 at 3:45 am

    Beautiful landscape and shot of the bridge. The bridge reminded me of my first and only trip to Frisco. πŸ™‚

     
  30. alicesg

    November 18, 2008 at 5:09 am

    Ooooo, I spotted the chilli crab, I forgot all about My World Tuesday, so am posting a second post today, and thanks to you, many get to see the photo of Singapore Chilli Crab and now you can all drools on the delicious crab…hehehe. I love your post on crab season…yummy. πŸ™‚

     
  31. Sandra

    November 18, 2008 at 6:20 am

    What an interesting post – thank you very much for sharing a little peace of your world and for your visit…

     
  32. Sandra

    November 18, 2008 at 6:21 am

    Picture is really great…

     
  33. Antigoni

    November 18, 2008 at 6:30 am

    Great post. I love eating crabs.

     
  34. Jennifer

    November 18, 2008 at 10:26 am

    Awesome photo and interesting post.

     
  35. SandyCarlson

    November 18, 2008 at 10:36 am

    I love it. This looks like summer all over again for me!

     
  36. Erin

    November 18, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    nothing better than san francisco and a crab dinner…thanks for sharing bits of my home state with everyone. you make me miss california so very much.

     
  37. Mojo

    November 18, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Around here it’s mainly blue crabs we find, though if I remember right, stone crabs aren’t unheard of. Any way you cut it, sounds like a spectacular Saturday in your world. (And much nicer weather than we had here last Saturday too!)

     
  38. Pernille

    November 18, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    Very interesting post. And a beautiful photo. Fantastic view!:)

     
  39. auringonkukkaperhe finland

    November 18, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    BEAUTIFUL PHOTO AND PLACE!
    have a nice week!!

     
  40. Denise BC

    November 18, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    I thank you for sharing your world. Grateful for the nice visit.
    Hugs, Denise

     
  41. soulbrush

    November 18, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    going home crabless and crabby can’t be too good a feeling1

     
  42. jean

    November 18, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Tiring day, beautiful shot! Crabs, yummy

     
  43. chrome3d

    November 19, 2008 at 4:04 am

    Indian meal sounds good to me after all that happened.

     
  44. bw

    November 20, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    Nice shot… I love to go crabbing !

     

Leave a Reply

 
