RSS

Sky Watch #120: October Sky

16 Dec

Next week is already Christmas, how crazy is that? Another year of skywatching is almost over.

Like many of you, I am busy, busy with preparations for the arrival of Jesus. I will be hosting the family’s Christmas luncheon. My brothers and I take turns and this year is my turn.

That’s why I wasn’t able to spend as much time as I wanted in going over my more current sky shots to show here.

October 14, Thursday, a Skywatch day. I came out of the house to this beautiful display above. So I shoot.
october 073

One is not enough so I took another one before driving away.
october 074

And against my better judgement, I shot another one while I was driving 1-80.
october 078
And halfway thru my commute, the traffic slowed down and again I took a shot.
october 079
These are the condos facing the bay, fantastic views they have.

From there, I resolved to continue the rest of my commute – 10 more miles – concentrating on the road.

Sky watch is a weekly gathering of sky lovers and sky watchers. Please join us.

 
33 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2010 in sky watch

 

33 responses to “Sky Watch #120: October Sky

  1. Carver

    December 16, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    Those are fantastic clouds. I love the sky when it looks like it does in these shots.

     
  2. Jidhu Jose

    December 16, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    Wowwwwwwwwww….really superb.
    sky looking awesome

     
  3. seniorhiker

    December 16, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    I’m glad you safely got those last two pictures and made it to work. The sky in all of these pictures is wonderful. Thanks for sharing them with us.

     
  4. EG Wow, Canada

    December 16, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    The sky in October was lovely! What a great view!

     
  5. Kim, usa

    December 16, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    Those are fantastic. As I was looking at it looks like the clouds is teasing at you saying “come on shoot me” and you did!! ^_^ It’s really beautiful!! Happy weekend!
    Sky Watch

     
  6. Tricia

    December 16, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    WoWoWeee! Love these skies… love the blues! =)

     
  7. Sally in WA

    December 16, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Like a sky full of cotton balls. Great shots. Glad you dug through your archives, too.

    Have a wonderful weekend as you continue with your Christmas preparations.

     
  8. Sylvia Kirkwood

    December 16, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    Oh, I love these!! And you got such fantastic captures!! We have clouds like this every now and then and I can never take enough pictures of them. These are really, really superb! Hope you have a great weekend with lots of beautiful skies! Enjoy!

    Sylvia

     
  9. shelly

    December 16, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    looks so surreal! must have been a great day with the cotton balls :)

     
  10. Sarah Schwerin

    December 16, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    Fabulous photos! So glad you took the time out of your commute to capture them!

     
  11. Misalyn

    December 16, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    Fantastic captures! What a visual treat!

    Have a wonderful weekend and have a blessed festive season to you and your family.

     
  12. robert

    December 16, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    Thank you for lifting up and taking away into an incredible sky.

    Please have a wonderful Friday.

     
  13. Al

    December 17, 2010 at 12:32 am

    Amazing! The speckled cloud pattern is very unusual, and your captures are exquisite.

     
  14. Wren

    December 17, 2010 at 12:41 am

    Ewok, I’m delighted to see your Skywatch-classic posts. Enjoy the holiday!

     
  15. SandyCarlson

    December 17, 2010 at 1:48 am

    Those skies are really gorgeous. Enjoy the preparations!

     
  16. lina@women's perspectives

    December 17, 2010 at 4:10 am

    Awesome clouds pattern :)

     
  17. keith

    December 17, 2010 at 5:41 am

    Ewok, thank you for the splendid blog. I believe this whole state is gorgeous, but i do not travel often, and I hope to visit Cannery Row. When I was a child, I attended John Steinbeck Middle School, and have been blessed to see the places about which he wrote. Merry Christmas.

     
  18. carolynUSA

    December 17, 2010 at 6:59 am

    wonderful wonderful clouds!

     
  19. bertN

    December 17, 2010 at 9:44 am

    Clouds like that are fun to watch, especially when they are racing to wherever they are going.

     
  20. luna miranda

    December 17, 2010 at 10:27 am

    awesome silvery clouds! fabulous shots.

     
  21. Gabriela Abalo

    December 17, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Wow! Awesome shots!!!

    have a great weekend

    cheers from Uruguay :)

     
  22. Rajesh

    December 17, 2010 at 11:57 am

    Beautiful views of white clods in blue sky.

     
  23. Gill

    December 17, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    lots and lots of cotton balls in the sky, just lovely,

    Gill in Canada

     
  24. Yoshi

    December 17, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    Bunch of cotton balls with a beautiful colors floating in the blue sky. Awesome photos!!! Love them ALL.
    Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful weekend.

     
  25. Laura Hegfield

    December 17, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    I can feel the motion of the clouds from your photos, wonderful!!!

     
  26. ladyfi

    December 17, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    What a lovely and fascinating sky! Gorgeous shots.

     
  27. Francisca

    December 17, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    I am glad you made it home safely… but also glad you got these gorgeous sky shots to share with us!

     
  28. marta

    December 18, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    The first cloud shot is gorgeous. I love the light and contrasts.

     
  29. eden

    December 19, 2010 at 4:12 am

    Wow, love those clouds. Great captures.

     
  30. Mike

    December 19, 2010 at 7:02 am

    Wow… very striking. Have a great weekend.
    This I do…

     
  31. Eileen

    December 19, 2010 at 11:55 am

    Wow, I love these silver clouds. Just beautiful. Wonderful skywatch shots.

     
  32. ksdoolittle

    December 21, 2010 at 3:02 am

    That’s a pretty dramatic sky!! Great captures.

     
  33. Mike B.

    December 22, 2010 at 3:18 am

    I’m glad you didn’t crash. They are definitely nice shots, so I guess I understand!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

